HydroOperatingSC

St Stephen

Hydro power plant in Berkeley County, South Carolina. 84 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by US Army Corps of Engineers.

Also known as St Stephen Dam · EIA plant 6789

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

CrossJefferiesSpillwaySunflower Solar LLCSR Lambert I, LLCSR Lambert IISt Stephen20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 36 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
84 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
March 1985First generator online
Operator
US Army Corps of EngineersEIA operator ID 50118
Grid
SCBalancing authority SC
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Berkeley County, SC33.4261, −79.9300
EIA plant ID
6789EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power St Stephen produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

161 GWh

161,076 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

21.9%

2024: 35.0%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

124.9–489.6

GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200092,194Not reported12 of 12
200115,852Not reported12 of 12
200248,241Not reported12 of 12
2003454,619Not reported12 of 12
2004178,559Not reported12 of 12
2005266,057Not reported12 of 12
2006115,570Not reported12 of 12
2007129,066Not reported12 of 12
200825,370Not reported12 of 12
2009194,767Not reported12 of 12
2010191,01826.0%12 of 12
201141,8115.7%12 of 12
201228,4853.9%12 of 12
2013354,31248.2%12 of 12
2014250,34934.0%12 of 12
2015270,81736.8%12 of 12
2016179,30424.3%12 of 12
2017124,92817.0%12 of 12
2018333,41445.3%12 of 12
2019306,89841.7%12 of 12
2020489,59766.4%12 of 12
2021243,86333.1%12 of 12
2022163,47722.2%12 of 12
2023205,82428.0%12 of 12
2024258,56235.0%12 of 12
2025161,07621.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric28.0March 1985
2Conventional Hydroelectric28.0March 1985
3Conventional Hydroelectric28.0March 1985

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists US Army Corps of Engineers as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query St Stephen and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near St Stephen

Questions about St Stephen

How much power does St Stephen produce?

St Stephen reported 161,076 MWh (161 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 21.9% capacity factor on 84 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is St Stephen?

St Stephen is in Berkeley County, South Carolina, at 33.4261, −79.9300. It is in the South Carolina Public Service Authority balancing area (SC).

Who operates St Stephen?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists US Army Corps of Engineers as the operator (EIA operator ID 50118). The operator is not always the owner.

When did St Stephen start operating?

Its first generator began operating in March 1985, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page