Natural gasOperatingPJM

Forked River

Natural gas power plant in Ocean County, New Jersey. 76.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Forked River Power, LLC.

Also known as Forked River Power Plant · EIA plant 7138

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

NJ - CS Energy - Berkeley 1Bayville Central FacilityEDF Ph1 Toms RiverTom's River (Lowes)Forked River10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 20 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
76.8 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 1989First generator online
Operator
Forked River Power, LLCEIA operator ID 61358
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
2 PJM nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Ocean County, NJ39.8154, −74.2098
EIA plant ID
7138EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Forked River produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

15.7 GWh

15,720 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

2.3%

2024: 0.6%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

2.0–15.7

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2025

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200046,764Not reported12 of 12
200138,790Not reported12 of 12
200249,214Not reported12 of 12
200333,667Not reported11 of 12
200435,111Not reported12 of 12
200540,424Not reported12 of 12
200634,243Not reported12 of 12
200718,882Not reported12 of 12
200817,870Not reported12 of 12
20091,961Not reported12 of 12
201012,7921.9%12 of 12
20113,9230.6%12 of 12
20121,7660.3%12 of 12
20134,2460.6%12 of 12
20144,3280.6%12 of 12
20155,4460.8%12 of 12
201611,6581.7%12 of 12
20177,2741.1%12 of 12
20188,6511.3%12 of 12
20196,2930.9%12 of 12
20205,2050.8%12 of 12
20218,1371.2%12 of 12
20227,3461.1%12 of 12
20231,9760.3%12 of 12
20243,8320.6%12 of 12
202515,7202.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · PJM

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

12,519

US short tons. 2024: 5,572

SO₂, 2025

0

US short tons

NOx, 2025

14

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.80 t

About 1,593 lb per MWh

2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (2001, 3001), matched to EIA plant 7138 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine38.4June 1989
2Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine38.4July 1989

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Forked River Power, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Forked River and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Forked River

Questions about Forked River

How much power does Forked River produce?

Forked River reported 15,720 MWh (15.7 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 2.3% capacity factor on 76.8 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Forked River?

Forked River is in Ocean County, New Jersey, at 39.8154, −74.2098. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates Forked River?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Forked River Power, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 61358). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Forked River start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 1989, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Forked River?

Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Forked River, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page