HydroOperating

Snettisham

Hydro power plant in Juneau, Alaska. 78.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Alaska Electric Light & Power Co..

Also known as Snettisham Power Plant · EIA plant 78

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Lake Dorothy Hydroelectric ProjectAnnex CreekIndustrial PlantSnettisham25 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 57 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
78.2 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
November 1973First generator online
Operator
Alaska Electric Light & Power Co.EIA operator ID 213
Grid
Not reported
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Juneau, AK58.1415, −133.7370
EIA plant ID
78EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Snettisham produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

285 GWh

285,260 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

41.6%

2024: 48.4%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

238.7–332.7

GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2024

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000130,235Not reported12 of 12
2001279,606Not reported12 of 12
2002272,690Not reported12 of 12
2003280,486Not reported12 of 12
2004279,130Not reported12 of 12
2005273,815Not reported12 of 12
2006308,418Not reported12 of 12
2007306,208Not reported12 of 12
2008220,640Not reported12 of 12
2009244,773Not reported12 of 12
2010285,66541.7%12 of 12
2011263,74938.5%12 of 12
2012290,42242.3%12 of 12
2013258,83237.8%12 of 12
2014285,59941.7%12 of 12
2015278,02340.6%12 of 12
2016273,03739.7%12 of 12
2017302,47444.2%12 of 12
2018259,85637.9%12 of 12
2019238,70834.8%12 of 12
2020283,19741.2%12 of 12
2021289,78542.3%12 of 12
2022287,82742.0%12 of 12
2023302,08844.1%12 of 12
2024332,68248.4%12 of 12
2025285,26041.6%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric23.6November 1973
2Conventional Hydroelectric23.6November 1973
3Conventional Hydroelectric31.0December 1990

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Alaska Electric Light & Power Co. as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Snettisham and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Snettisham

More plants operated by Alaska Electric Light & Power Co.

Questions about Snettisham

How much power does Snettisham produce?

Snettisham reported 285,260 MWh (285 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 41.6% capacity factor on 78.2 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Snettisham?

Snettisham is in Juneau, Alaska, at 58.1415, −133.7370.

Who operates Snettisham?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Alaska Electric Light & Power Co. as the operator (EIA operator ID 213). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Snettisham start operating?

Its first generator began operating in November 1973, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page