Factory
Oil power plant in Sangamon County, Illinois. 26.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by City of Springfield - (IL).
Also known as EIA plant 8016
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 26.6 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 1973First generator online
- Operator
- City of Springfield - (IL)EIA operator ID 17828
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Sangamon County, IL39.8259, −89.6373
- EIA plant ID
- 8016EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Factory produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
132 MWh
132 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
0.1%
2024: 0.0%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
64.0–859.0
MWh a year. Low 2023, high 2019
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 520 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 207 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 131 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 28 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 43 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 153 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 222 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 286 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 15 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 8 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 25 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 187 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 633 | 0.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 225 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 286 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 75 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 208 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 247 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 128 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 859 | 0.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 195 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 110 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 236 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 64 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 66 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 132 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
Not reported
US short tons. 2024: Not reported
SO₂, 2025
1
US short tons
NOx, 2025
1
US short tons
0 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (2), matched to EIA plant 8016 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Petroleum Liquids | 26.6 | August 1973 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Springfield - (IL) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Factory and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Factory
More plants operated by City of Springfield - (IL)
Questions about Factory
How much power does Factory produce?
Factory reported 132 MWh (132 MWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.1% capacity factor on 26.6 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Factory?
Factory is in Sangamon County, Illinois, at 39.8259, −89.6373. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Factory?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Springfield - (IL) as the operator (EIA operator ID 17828). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Factory start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 1973, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Factory?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Factory, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page