OilHydroOperating

Petersburg

Oil power plant in Wrangell Petersburg, Alaska. 14.7 MW of nameplate capacity across 8 generators, operated by Petersburg Borough - (AK).

Also known as EIA plant 91

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

WrangellPetersburg25 km
Open in the map
1 plant within 53 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
14.7 MWOil 12.9 · Hydro 1.8
Generators
8 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
October 1965First generator online
Operator
Petersburg Borough - (AK)EIA operator ID 14856
Grid
Not reported
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Wrangell Petersburg, AK56.8110, −132.9571
EIA plant ID
91EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Petersburg produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

14.4 GWh

14,386 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

11.2%

2024: 10.1%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.8–14.4

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2025

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20000Not reported12 of 12
200114,065Not reported12 of 12
200212,289Not reported12 of 12
200312,289Not reported12 of 12
200412,306Not reported12 of 12
200513,966Not reported12 of 12
200613,249Not reported12 of 12
200714,502Not reported12 of 12
200814,122Not reported12 of 12
200912,614Not reported12 of 12
201011,51310.7%12 of 12
201111,40910.6%12 of 12
201214,066Not reported12 of 12
201312,3789.5%12 of 12
201413,84010.7%12 of 12
201513,47610.4%12 of 12
201611,7329.0%12 of 12
201712,677Not reported12 of 12
20189,3197.3%12 of 12
201912,94010.2%12 of 12
202014,14111.1%12 of 12
202114,38311.3%12 of 12
202214,36311.3%12 of 12
2023780Not reported12 of 12
202413,00310.1%12 of 12
202514,38611.2%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
4Conventional Hydroelectric1.8December 2023
IC1Petroleum Liquids2.6December 1972
IC3Petroleum Liquids1.2October 1965
IC4Petroleum Liquids0.6March 1979
IC5Petroleum Liquids0.8March 1979
IC6Petroleum Liquids2.6September 1993
IC7Petroleum Liquids2.6August 2001
IC8Petroleum Liquids2.5October 2012

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Petersburg Borough - (AK) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Petersburg and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Petersburg

Questions about Petersburg

How much power does Petersburg produce?

Petersburg reported 14,386 MWh (14.4 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 11.2% capacity factor on 14.7 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Petersburg?

Petersburg is in Wrangell Petersburg, Alaska, at 56.8110, −132.9571.

Who operates Petersburg?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Petersburg Borough - (AK) as the operator (EIA operator ID 14856). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Petersburg start operating?

Its first generator began operating in October 1965, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page