OilOperatingPJM

South Main Street

Oil power plant in Ogle County, Illinois. 5.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Rochelle Municipal Utilities - (IL).

Also known as EIA plant 961

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Rochelle Energy CenterTower Road Solar, LLC CSGBoigenzahn Solar 1A, LLCWolfcastleSouth Main Street10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 19 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
5.4 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 2016First generator online
Operator
Rochelle Municipal Utilities - (IL)EIA operator ID 16179
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Ogle County, IL41.9092, −89.0504
EIA plant ID
961EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power South Main Street produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

1.17 GWh

1,173 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

0.8%

2024: 0.9%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.1–1.7

GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20000Not reported12 of 12
20018,002Not reported12 of 12
2002188Not reported12 of 12
200329Not reported12 of 12
200414Not reported12 of 12
200578Not reported12 of 12
2006208Not reported12 of 12
200714Not reported12 of 12
20085Not reported12 of 12
2009163Not reported12 of 12
20101580.4%12 of 12
20111430.3%12 of 12
20121850.4%12 of 12
20132990.7%12 of 12
2014122Not reported12 of 12
20152250.2%12 of 12
20161,502Not reported12 of 12
2017790.1%12 of 12
20181,4581.1%12 of 12
20191,1460.8%12 of 12
20201,7481.3%12 of 12
20211,3351.0%12 of 12
20221,1590.8%12 of 12
20236670.5%12 of 12
20241,2930.9%12 of 12
20251,1730.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
16Petroleum Liquids1.8June 2016
17Petroleum Liquids1.8June 2016
18Petroleum Liquids1.8June 2016

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Rochelle Municipal Utilities - (IL) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query South Main Street and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near South Main Street

More plants operated by Rochelle Municipal Utilities - (IL)

Questions about South Main Street

How much power does South Main Street produce?

South Main Street reported 1,173 MWh (1.17 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.8% capacity factor on 5.4 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is South Main Street?

South Main Street is in Ogle County, Illinois, at 41.9092, −89.0504. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates South Main Street?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Rochelle Municipal Utilities - (IL) as the operator (EIA operator ID 16179). The operator is not always the owner.

When did South Main Street start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 2016, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page