Natural gasOperatingMISO

Nine Springs

Natural gas power plant in Dane County, Wisconsin. 16.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Madison Gas & Electric Co.

Also known as EIA plant 9674

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Blount BESSBlount StreetUW Madison Charter Street PlantTyto SolarNine Springs2 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 6.8 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
16.2 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 1964First generator online
Operator
Madison Gas & Electric CoEIA operator ID 11479
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Dane County, WI43.0386, −89.3586
EIA plant ID
9674EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Nine Springs produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

89 MWh

89 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

0.1%

2024: 0.1%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.0–1.8

GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2016

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200013Not reported12 of 12
20012,962Not reported12 of 12
200258Not reported12 of 12
2003147Not reported12 of 12
2004166Not reported12 of 12
2005330Not reported12 of 12
2006130Not reported12 of 12
20070Not reported12 of 12
2008−115Not reported12 of 12
2009688Not reported12 of 12
2010650.0%12 of 12
201190.0%12 of 12
20121860.1%12 of 12
2013370.0%12 of 12
20141500.1%12 of 12
20151,0990.8%12 of 12
20161,8161.3%12 of 12
20175210.4%12 of 12
2018370.0%12 of 12
2019230.0%12 of 12
2020260.0%12 of 12
2021120.0%12 of 12
2022360.0%12 of 12
2023650.0%12 of 12
2024820.1%12 of 12
2025890.1%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GT1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine16.2December 1964

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Madison Gas & Electric Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Nine Springs and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Nine Springs

More plants operated by Madison Gas & Electric Co

Questions about Nine Springs

How much power does Nine Springs produce?

Nine Springs reported 89 MWh (89 MWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.1% capacity factor on 16.2 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Nine Springs?

Nine Springs is in Dane County, Wisconsin, at 43.0386, −89.3586. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Nine Springs?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Madison Gas & Electric Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 11479). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Nine Springs start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 1964, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page