HydroOperatingNYISO

Moose River

Hydro power plant in Lewis County, New York. 12.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by EONY Generation Limited.

Also known as Moose River Power Plant · EIA plant 10196

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

KostervilleLyons Falls HydroelectricBlack River Hydro AssociatesPort Leyden Hydroelectric ProjectMoose River1 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 3.0 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
12.6 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
November 1987First generator online
Operator
EONY Generation LimitedEIA operator ID 60023
Grid
NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
Price nodes
1 NYISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Lewis County, NY43.6107, −75.3413
EIA plant ID
10196EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Moose River produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

37.1 GWh

37,108 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

33.6%

2024: 40.3%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

31.9–64.9

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200142,963Not reported12 of 12
200252,195Not reported12 of 12
200345,889Not reported12 of 12
200444,827Not reported12 of 12
200548,567Not reported12 of 12
200666,077Not reported12 of 12
200745,432Not reported12 of 12
200857,611Not reported12 of 12
200950,233Not reported12 of 12
201046,68342.3%12 of 12
201127,56125.0%12 of 12
20123,2112.9%12 of 12
201324,35622.1%12 of 12
201442,75738.7%12 of 12
201541,24537.4%12 of 12
201650,54145.7%12 of 12
201764,92158.8%12 of 12
201847,39642.9%12 of 12
201960,41154.7%12 of 12
202039,82336.0%12 of 12
202155,99150.7%12 of 12
202246,40642.0%12 of 12
202331,90928.9%12 of 12
202444,59440.3%12 of 12
202537,10833.6%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · NYISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN1Conventional Hydroelectric12.6November 1987

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists EONY Generation Limited as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Moose River and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Moose River

More plants operated by EONY Generation Limited

Questions about Moose River

How much power does Moose River produce?

Moose River reported 37,108 MWh (37.1 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 33.6% capacity factor on 12.6 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Moose River?

Moose River is in Lewis County, New York, at 43.6107, −75.3413. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).

Who operates Moose River?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists EONY Generation Limited as the operator (EIA operator ID 60023). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Moose River start operating?

Its first generator began operating in November 1987, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Moose River?

Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Moose River, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page