Natural gasOperatingCAISO

California Institute of Technology

Natural gas power plant in Los Angeles County, California. 13 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by California Institute-Technology.

Also known as EIA plant 10262

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

GlenarmRatkovich AlhambraCalifornia Institute…2 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 7.6 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
13 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
August 2003First generator online
Operator
California Institute-TechnologyEIA operator ID 2848
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Los Angeles County, CA34.1385, −118.1256
EIA plant ID
10262EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power California Institute of Technology produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

41.8 GWh

41,750 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

36.7%

2024: 55.6%

January to July 2026

50.3 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

15.8–90.3

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200141,444Not reported12 of 12
20020Not reported12 of 12
20030Not reported12 of 12
200488,636Not reported12 of 12
200577,065Not reported12 of 12
200671,029Not reported12 of 12
200778,315Not reported12 of 12
200860,793Not reported12 of 12
200967,984Not reported12 of 12
201079,35369.7%12 of 12
201179,49769.8%12 of 12
201287,95877.0%12 of 12
201374,957Not reported12 of 12
201481,05971.2%12 of 12
201581,68371.7%12 of 12
201680,57170.6%12 of 12
201790,29679.3%12 of 12
201890,06779.1%12 of 12
201988,13477.4%12 of 12
202066,88258.6%12 of 12
202182,60372.5%12 of 12
202230,32026.6%12 of 12
202315,82513.9%12 of 12
202463,47155.6%12 of 12
202541,75036.7%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)50,31676.1%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN6Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle10.5August 2003
GEN7Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle2.5October 2003

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists California Institute-Technology as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query California Institute of Technology and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near California Institute of Technology

Questions about California Institute of Technology

How much power does California Institute of Technology produce?

California Institute of Technology reported 41,750 MWh (41.8 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 36.7% capacity factor on 13 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 50.3 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is California Institute of Technology?

California Institute of Technology is in Los Angeles County, California, at 34.1385, −118.1256. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates California Institute of Technology?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists California Institute-Technology as the operator (EIA operator ID 2848). The operator is not always the owner.

When did California Institute of Technology start operating?

Its first generator began operating in August 2003, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page