Archer Daniels Midland Clinton
Coal power plant in Clinton County, Iowa. 180 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Archer Daniels Midland Co.
Also known as Archer Daniels Midland Clinton Power Plant · EIA plant 10860
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 180 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- February 2009First generator online
- Operator
- Archer Daniels Midland CoEIA operator ID 772
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Clinton County, IA41.8206, −90.2097
- EIA plant ID
- 10860EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Archer Daniels Midland Clinton produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
716 GWh
716,358 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
45.4%
2024: 49.3%
January to July 2026
404 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
677.1–812.8
GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | 248,808 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | 165,746 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 15,873 | Not reported | 1 of 12 |
| 2006 | 169,371 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 151,328 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 95,850 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 521,366 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 793,892 | 50.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 790,991 | 50.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 725,435 | 45.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 800,823 | 50.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 838,855 | 53.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 812,787 | 51.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 720,966 | 45.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 677,099 | 42.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 773,256 | 49.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 771,894 | 49.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 768,903 | 48.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 734,505 | 46.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 775,511 | 49.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 713,073 | 45.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 780,156 | 49.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 716,358 | 45.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 404,402 | 44.2% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
373
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
227
million gallons
Source
Well
Ground, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.182
USGS SUI, HUC12 Mill Creek
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Groundwater user; SUI describes surface water and is context only. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1A | Conventional Steam Coal | 75.0 | February 2009 |
| 2A | Conventional Steam Coal | 105.0 | April 2009 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Archer Daniels Midland Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Archer Daniels Midland Clinton and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Archer Daniels Midland Clinton
More plants operated by Archer Daniels Midland Co
Questions about Archer Daniels Midland Clinton
How much power does Archer Daniels Midland Clinton produce?
Archer Daniels Midland Clinton reported 716,358 MWh (716 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 45.4% capacity factor on 180 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 404 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Archer Daniels Midland Clinton?
Archer Daniels Midland Clinton is in Clinton County, Iowa, at 41.8206, −90.2097. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Archer Daniels Midland Clinton?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Archer Daniels Midland Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 772). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Archer Daniels Midland Clinton start operating?
Its first generator began operating in February 2009, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page