CoalOperatingSPP

Archer Daniels Midland Columbus

Coal power plant in Platte County, Nebraska. 71.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Archer Daniels Midland Co.

Also known as Columbus ADM power station · EIA plant 57046

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

ColumbusDavid CityMonroe (NE)Creston Ridge Wind FarmCreston Ridge II, LLCPolk County Renewables, LLCArcher Daniels Midlan…10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 37 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
71.4 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
May 2010First generator online
Operator
Archer Daniels Midland CoEIA operator ID 772
Grid
SPPBalancing authority SWPP
Price nodes
1 SPP nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Platte County, NE41.4164, −97.2863
EIA plant ID
57046EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Archer Daniels Midland Columbus produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

232 GWh

231,689 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

37.0%

2024: 48.2%

January to July 2026

149 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

182.4–322.9

GWh a year. Low 2020, high 2018

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20108,60216.2%1 of 12
2011237,11937.9%12 of 12
2012298,51147.6%12 of 12
2013284,38745.5%12 of 12
2014300,39748.0%12 of 12
2015295,81647.3%12 of 12
2016290,51546.3%12 of 12
2017303,32448.5%12 of 12
2018322,93951.6%12 of 12
2019292,86146.8%12 of 12
2020182,40429.1%12 of 12
2021272,51543.6%12 of 12
2022284,99645.6%12 of 12
2023288,99146.2%12 of 12
2024302,09348.2%12 of 12
2025231,68937.0%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)148,91841.0%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · SPP

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN1Conventional Steam Coal71.4May 2010

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Archer Daniels Midland Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Archer Daniels Midland Columbus and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Archer Daniels Midland Columbus

More plants operated by Archer Daniels Midland Co

Questions about Archer Daniels Midland Columbus

How much power does Archer Daniels Midland Columbus produce?

Archer Daniels Midland Columbus reported 231,689 MWh (232 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 37.0% capacity factor on 71.4 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 149 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Archer Daniels Midland Columbus?

Archer Daniels Midland Columbus is in Platte County, Nebraska, at 41.4164, −97.2863. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).

Who operates Archer Daniels Midland Columbus?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Archer Daniels Midland Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 772). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Archer Daniels Midland Columbus start operating?

Its first generator began operating in May 2010, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Archer Daniels Midland Columbus?

Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Archer Daniels Midland Columbus, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page