HydroOperatingSPP

Monroe (NE)

Hydro power plant in Platte County, Nebraska. 7.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Loup River Public Power Dist.

Also known as EIA plant 2273

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

ColumbusCreston Ridge II, LLCArcher Daniels Midland ColumbusCreston Ridge Wind FarmPolk County Renewables, LLCMadison UtilitiesMonroe (NE)20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 40 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
7.8 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1936First generator online
Operator
Loup River Public Power DistEIA operator ID 11251
Grid
SPPBalancing authority SWPP
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Platte County, NE41.4872, −97.6078
EIA plant ID
2273EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Monroe (NE) produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

27.2 GWh

27,227 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

Not reported

2024: 34.4%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

15.4–31.7

GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2018

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200017,299Not reported12 of 12
200124,423Not reported12 of 12
200216,639Not reported12 of 12
200320,247Not reported12 of 12
200418,280Not reported12 of 12
200520,037Not reported12 of 12
200621,464Not reported12 of 12
200723,485Not reported12 of 12
200828,800Not reported12 of 12
200930,040Not reported12 of 12
201032,70244.4%12 of 12
201130,38741.3%12 of 12
201217,55923.8%12 of 12
201324,59933.4%12 of 12
201426,19835.6%12 of 12
201529,41240.0%12 of 12
201629,81740.4%12 of 12
201729,19939.7%12 of 12
201831,67643.0%12 of 12
201915,39820.9%12 of 12
202023,00131.2%12 of 12
202126,35835.8%12 of 12
202218,46725.1%12 of 12
202326,97336.7%12 of 12
202425,38534.4%12 of 12
202527,227Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric2.6January 1936
2Conventional Hydroelectric2.6January 1936
3Conventional Hydroelectric2.6January 1936

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Loup River Public Power Dist as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Monroe (NE) and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Monroe (NE)

More plants operated by Loup River Public Power Dist

Questions about Monroe (NE)

How much power does Monroe (NE) produce?

Monroe (NE) reported 27,227 MWh (27.2 GWh) of net generation in 2025.

Where is Monroe (NE)?

Monroe (NE) is in Platte County, Nebraska, at 41.4872, −97.6078. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).

Who operates Monroe (NE)?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Loup River Public Power Dist as the operator (EIA operator ID 11251). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Monroe (NE) start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1936, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page