Keokuk
Hydro power plant in Lee County, Iowa. 124.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 15 generators, operated by Union Electric Co - (MO).
Also known as Keokuk Power Plant · EIA plant 1109
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 124.8 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 15 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 1913First generator online
- Operator
- Union Electric Co - (MO)EIA operator ID 19436
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 16 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Lee County, IA40.3965, −91.3719
- EIA plant ID
- 1109EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Keokuk produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
962 GWh
961,805 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
88.0%
2024: 81.0%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.8–1.0
TWh a year. Low 2019, high 2017
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 884,558 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 822,615 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 918,075 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 770,228 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 923,961 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 934,366 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 881,098 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 942,357 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 802,914 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 949,900 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 930,304 | 85.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 910,383 | 83.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 754,072 | 68.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 738,922 | 67.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 869,780 | 79.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 946,037 | 86.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 899,879 | 82.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,017,208 | 93.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 910,693 | 83.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 782,218 | 71.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 1,009,459 | 92.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 923,378 | 84.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 894,804 | 81.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 834,919 | 76.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 888,279 | 81.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 961,805 | 88.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 7.6 | August 1913 |
| 2 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 7.6 | August 1913 |
| 3 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 7.6 | August 1913 |
| 4 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 7.6 | August 1913 |
| 5 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 7.6 | August 1913 |
| 6 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 7.6 | August 1913 |
| 7 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 8.8 | August 1913 |
| 8 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 8.8 | August 1913 |
| 9 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 8.8 | August 1913 |
| 10 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 8.8 | August 1913 |
| 11 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 8.8 | August 1913 |
| 12 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 8.8 | August 1913 |
| 13 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 8.8 | August 1913 |
| 14 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 8.8 | August 1913 |
| 15 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 8.8 | August 1913 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Union Electric Co - (MO) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Keokuk and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Keokuk
More plants operated by Union Electric Co - (MO)
Questions about Keokuk
How much power does Keokuk produce?
Keokuk reported 961,805 MWh (962 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 88.0% capacity factor on 124.8 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Keokuk?
Keokuk is in Lee County, Iowa, at 40.3965, −91.3719. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Keokuk?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Union Electric Co - (MO) as the operator (EIA operator ID 19436). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Keokuk start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 1913, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Keokuk?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 16 price nodes linked to Keokuk, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page