Lieberman
Natural gas power plant in Caddo Parish, Louisiana. 228 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Southwestern Electric Power Co.
Also known as Lieberman Power Plant · EIA plant 1417
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 228 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- June 1957First generator online
- Operator
- Southwestern Electric Power CoEIA operator ID 17698
- Grid
- SPPBalancing authority SWPP
- Price nodes
- 2 SPP nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Caddo Parish, LA32.7047, −93.9597
- EIA plant ID
- 1417EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Lieberman produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
253 GWh
252,646 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
12.6%
2024: 9.2%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
25.7–252.6
GWh a year. Low 2020, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 435,967 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 280,382 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 123,053 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 110,351 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 26,881 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 120,282 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 95,448 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 115,840 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 99,584 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 161,638 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 96,067 | 3.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 110,233 | 4.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 97,098 | 4.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 37,752 | 1.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 63,315 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 49,841 | 2.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 56,817 | 2.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 35,012 | 1.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 66,709 | 3.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 77,865 | 3.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 25,678 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 70,828 | 3.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 134,715 | 6.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 139,249 | 7.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 183,903 | 9.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 252,646 | 12.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · SPPEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
178,415
US short tons. 2024: 130,501
SO₂, 2025
1
US short tons
NOx, 2025
243
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.71 t
About 1,412 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (3, 4), matched to EIA plant 1417 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
31,927
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
58
million gallons
Source
Caddo Lake
Surface, Fresh. Recirculating with cooling pond
Watershed stress
Low · 0.280
USGS SUI, HUC12 Tete Bayou-Caddo Lake
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Cooling-pond plants report water circulated through the pond as withdrawal, so withdrawal is far above consumption. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 | Natural Gas Steam Turbine | 114.0 | June 1957 |
| 4 | Natural Gas Steam Turbine | 114.0 | May 1959 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Southwestern Electric Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Lieberman and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Lieberman
More plants operated by Southwestern Electric Power Co
Questions about Lieberman
How much power does Lieberman produce?
Lieberman reported 252,646 MWh (253 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 12.6% capacity factor on 228 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Lieberman?
Lieberman is in Caddo Parish, Louisiana, at 32.7047, −93.9597. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).
Who operates Lieberman?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Southwestern Electric Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 17698). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Lieberman start operating?
Its first generator began operating in June 1957, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Lieberman?
Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Lieberman, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page