HydroOperatingISO-NE

Boatlock

Hydro power plant in Hampden County, Massachusetts. 3.1 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by City of Holyoke Gas and Elec Dept - (MA).

Also known as EIA plant 1603

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Hadley FallsRiverside HolyokeCabot HolyokeChemicalChicopee SolarBoatlock1 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 3.0 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
3.1 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1921First generator online
Operator
City of Holyoke Gas and Elec Dept - (MA)EIA operator ID 8776
Grid
ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
Price nodes
1 ISONE nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Hampden County, MA42.2086, −72.6014
EIA plant ID
1603EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Boatlock produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

11.6 GWh

11,596 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

42.7%

2024: 69.3%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

10.6–21.3

GWh a year. Low 2022, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200014,641Not reported12 of 12
20019,663Not reported12 of 12
200210,607Not reported12 of 12
200310,550Not reported12 of 12
200410,478Not reported12 of 12
200511,697Not reported12 of 12
200624,078Not reported12 of 12
20077,870Not reported12 of 12
200814,907Not reported12 of 12
200914,902Not reported12 of 12
20109,230Not reported12 of 12
201115,63357.6%12 of 12
201213,20548.5%12 of 12
201314,06151.8%12 of 12
201412,05944.4%12 of 12
201514,939Not reported12 of 12
201611,19741.1%12 of 12
201715,28356.3%12 of 12
201816,45560.6%12 of 12
201915,38356.6%12 of 12
202014,51753.3%12 of 12
202113,07948.2%12 of 12
202210,59339.0%12 of 12
202321,25778.3%12 of 12
202418,86769.3%12 of 12
202511,59642.7%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ISONE

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric0.7January 1921
2Conventional Hydroelectric1.2January 1924
3Conventional Hydroelectric1.2January 1924

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Holyoke Gas and Elec Dept - (MA) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Boatlock and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Boatlock

More plants operated by City of Holyoke Gas and Elec Dept - (MA)

Questions about Boatlock

How much power does Boatlock produce?

Boatlock reported 11,596 MWh (11.6 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 42.7% capacity factor on 3.1 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Boatlock?

Boatlock is in Hampden County, Massachusetts, at 42.2086, −72.6014. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).

Who operates Boatlock?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Holyoke Gas and Elec Dept - (MA) as the operator (EIA operator ID 8776). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Boatlock start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1921, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Boatlock?

Yes. InfraMap has ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Boatlock, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page