Lon Wright
Coal and natural gas power plant in Dodge County, Nebraska. 172.3 MW of nameplate capacity across 6 generators, operated by City of Fremont - (NE).
Also known as Lon D Wright Power Plant · EIA plant 2240
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 172.3 MWCoal 130.0 · Natural gas 40.0 · Solar 2.3
- Generators
- 6 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 1957First generator online
- Operator
- City of Fremont - (NE)EIA operator ID 6779
- Grid
- SPPBalancing authority SWPP
- Price nodes
- 3 SPP nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Dodge County, NE41.4281, −96.4623
- EIA plant ID
- 2240EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Lon Wright produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
466 GWh
465,819 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
30.9%
2024: 34.1%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
429.3–649.1
GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2019
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 397,300 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 403,649 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 438,406 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 93,961 | Not reported | 2 of 12 |
| 2004 | 494,884 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 551,810 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 563,605 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 561,898 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 554,732 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 22,056 | Not reported | 1 of 12 |
| 2010 | 467,280 | 31.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 455,812 | 30.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 454,328 | 30.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 481,812 | 32.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | 429,333 | 28.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 457,773 | 30.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 455,069 | 30.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 391,509 | Not reported | 10 of 12 |
| 2019 | 649,105 | 34.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 603,706 | 32.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 490,737 | 26.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 447,824 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 521,579 | 34.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 515,669 | 34.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 465,819 | 30.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · SPPEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
393,505
US short tons. 2024: 453,031
SO₂, 2025
640
US short tons
NOx, 2025
481
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.84 t
About 1,690 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (50T, 8), matched to EIA plant 2240 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
5,913
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
213
million gallons
Source
Wells
Ground, Fresh. Once-through
Watershed stress
Low · 0.394
USGS SUI, HUC12 Old Channel Rawhide Creek-Elkhorn River
36 of 36 cooling months report withdrawal. Groundwater user; SUI describes surface water and is context only. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5OT | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 40.0 | November 2003 |
| 6 | Conventional Steam Coal | 16.5 | August 1957 |
| 7 | Conventional Steam Coal | 22.0 | August 1963 |
| 8 | Conventional Steam Coal | 91.5 | January 1976 |
| SLR1 | Solar Photovoltaic | 1.3 | March 2018 |
| SLR2 | Solar Photovoltaic | 1.0 | September 2018 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Fremont - (NE) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Lon Wright and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Lon Wright
Questions about Lon Wright
How much power does Lon Wright produce?
Lon Wright reported 465,819 MWh (466 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 30.9% capacity factor on 172.3 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Lon Wright?
Lon Wright is in Dodge County, Nebraska, at 41.4281, −96.4623. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).
Who operates Lon Wright?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Fremont - (NE) as the operator (EIA operator ID 6779). The operator is not always the owner.
Is Lon Wright a coal or a natural gas plant?
Both. Coal capacity totals 130 MW and natural gas capacity totals 40 MW, with 2.3 MW of solar.
When did Lon Wright start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 1957, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Lon Wright?
Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 3 price nodes linked to Lon Wright, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page