HydroOperatingNYISO

Johnsonville Dam

Hydro power plant in Rensselaer County, New York. 2 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP.

Also known as EIA plant 2580

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Valley Falls Hydroelectric FacilityCzub CSGNY8 - Darby SolarNY8 - Branscomb SolarNorthline Solar CSGJohnsonville Dam5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 10 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
2 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1909First generator online
Operator
Erie Boulevard Hydropower LPEIA operator ID 5914
Grid
NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
Price nodes
1 NYISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Rensselaer County, NY42.9204, −73.5089
EIA plant ID
2580EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Johnsonville Dam produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

4.17 GWh

4,170 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

11.9%

2024: 22.7%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

4.2–13.6

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20019,462Not reported12 of 12
200211,493Not reported12 of 12
200310,179Not reported12 of 12
20041,099Not reported12 of 12
20059,246Not reported12 of 12
200614,120Not reported12 of 12
200710,284Not reported12 of 12
20088,560Not reported12 of 12
2009333Not reported12 of 12
20107,45821.3%12 of 12
20114,49412.8%12 of 12
20123,49710.0%12 of 12
20136,58218.8%12 of 12
201410,07128.7%12 of 12
20154,90614.0%12 of 12
20164,73213.5%12 of 12
20176,68919.1%12 of 12
20187,27120.8%12 of 12
20196,09017.4%12 of 12
20207,13120.3%12 of 12
202111,75933.6%12 of 12
20226,95219.8%12 of 12
202313,64438.9%12 of 12
20247,97722.7%12 of 12
20254,17011.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · NYISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric2.0January 1909

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Johnsonville Dam and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Johnsonville Dam

More plants operated by Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP

Questions about Johnsonville Dam

How much power does Johnsonville Dam produce?

Johnsonville Dam reported 4,170 MWh (4.17 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 11.9% capacity factor on 2 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Johnsonville Dam?

Johnsonville Dam is in Rensselaer County, New York, at 42.9204, −73.5089. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).

Who operates Johnsonville Dam?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP as the operator (EIA operator ID 5914). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Johnsonville Dam start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1909, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Johnsonville Dam?

Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Johnsonville Dam, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page