Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid
Natural gas and battery storage project in Monterey County, California. 1,848 MW of nameplate capacity across 8 generators, operated by Dynegy -Moss Landing LLC.
Also known as Moss Landing Power Plant · EIA plant 260
This project groups Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid (EIA 260). EIA reports them as separate plants.
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,848 MWNatural gas 1,398.0 · Battery storage 450.0
- Generators
- 8 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 2002First generator online
- Operator
- Dynegy -Moss Landing LLCEIA operator ID 54802
- Grid
- CAISOBalancing authority CISO
- Price nodes
- 6 CAISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Monterey County, CA36.8048, −121.7822
- EIA plant ID
- 260EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
2.07 TWh
2,068,002 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
Not reported
2024: 32.8%
January to July 2026
1.39 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2016 to 2025
2.1–5.3
TWh a year. Low 2025, high 2023
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 7,815,697 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 8,472,809 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 6,540,840 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 6,046,943 | Not reported | 10 of 12 |
| 2004 | 6,440,119 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 5,331,135 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 6,308,443 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 7,551,995 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 1,150,515 | Not reported | 2 of 12 |
| 2009 | 4,386,230 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 3,546,345 | 14.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 1,999,188 | 8.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 5,021,615 | 20.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 5,044,610 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 4,152,565 | 16.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 3,839,381 | 16.9% | 11 of 12 |
| 2016 | 2,584,936 | 10.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 2,344,638 | 19.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 4,178,782 | 34.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 5,220,833 | 42.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 5,223,032 | 42.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 3,641,444 | Not reported | 8 of 12 |
| 2022 | 5,118,438 | 42.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 5,336,838 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 3,931,198 | 32.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 2,068,002 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,392,956 | 19.6% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
868,746
US short tons. 2024: 1.65M
SO₂, 2025
5
US short tons
NOx, 2025
88
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.42 t
About 840 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1A, 2A, 3A, 4A, 6-1, 7-1), matched to EIA plant 260 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
83,509
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
Not reported
million gallons
Source
Moss Landing Harbor
Surface, Saline. Once-through
Watershed stress
High · 0.634
USGS SUI, HUC12 Elkhorn Slough
24 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. Saline, brackish or ocean intake; not tested. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| BAT2 | Batteries | 100.0 | May 2021 |
| BAT3 | Batteries | 350.0 | June 2023 |
| CT1A | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 233.0 | July 2002 |
| CT1B | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 233.0 | July 2002 |
| CT2A | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 233.0 | July 2002 |
| CT2B | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 233.0 | July 2002 |
| ST1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 233.0 | July 2002 |
| ST2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 233.0 | July 2002 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Dynegy -Moss Landing LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid
Questions about Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid
How much power does Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid produce?
Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid reported 2,068,002 MWh (2.07 TWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.39 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid?
Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid is in Monterey County, California, at 36.8048, −121.7822. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).
Who operates Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Dynegy -Moss Landing LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 54802). The operator is not always the owner.
Is Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid a natural gas or a battery storage plant?
Both. Natural gas capacity totals 1,398 MW and battery storage capacity totals 450 MW.
When did Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 2002, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 6 price nodes linked to Dynegy Moss Landing Power Plant Hybrid, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page