Lewiston Niagara
Pumped storage power plant in Niagara County, New York. 220 MW of nameplate capacity across 11 generators, operated by New York Power Authority.
Also known as Lewiston Pump-Generating Plant · Lewiston Pump-Generating Plant Dam · Lewiston Dam · EIA plant 2692
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 220 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 11 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 1961First generator online
- Operator
- New York Power AuthorityEIA operator ID 15296
- Grid
- NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
- Price nodes
- 1 NYISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Niagara County, NY43.1430, −79.0220
- EIA plant ID
- 2692EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Lewiston Niagara produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
−245 GWh
−244,719 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
Not reported
2024: Not reported
January to July 2026
−135 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
−284.8–−187.7
GWh a year. Low 2016, high 2020
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | −348,982 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | −371,196 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | −364,257 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | −370,193 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | −370,445 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | −350,817 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | −360,089 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | −383,486 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | −384,363 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | −361,611 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | −372,282 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | −332,421 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | −320,281 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | −321,604 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | −315,310 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | −245,347 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | −284,770 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | −252,637 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | −230,137 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | −195,080 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | −187,728 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | −233,303 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | −238,553 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | −226,158 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | −238,354 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | −244,719 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | −134,548 | Not reported | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · NYISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 20.0 | October 1961 |
| 3 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 20.0 | November 1961 |
| 4 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 20.0 | January 1962 |
| 5 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 20.0 | February 1962 |
| 6 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 20.0 | February 1962 |
| 7 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 20.0 | April 1962 |
| 8 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 20.0 | May 1962 |
| 9 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 20.0 | June 1962 |
| 10 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 20.0 | July 1962 |
| 11 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 20.0 | August 1962 |
| 12 | Hydroelectric Pumped Storage | 20.0 | October 1962 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists New York Power Authority as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Lewiston Niagara and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Lewiston Niagara
More plants operated by New York Power Authority
Questions about Lewiston Niagara
How much power does Lewiston Niagara produce?
Lewiston Niagara reported −244,719 MWh (−245 GWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported −135 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Lewiston Niagara?
Lewiston Niagara is in Niagara County, New York, at 43.1430, −79.0220. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).
Who operates Lewiston Niagara?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists New York Power Authority as the operator (EIA operator ID 15296). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Lewiston Niagara start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 1961, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Lewiston Niagara?
Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Lewiston Niagara, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page