Zeltmann
Natural gas power plant in Queens County, New York. 528 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by New York Power Authority.
Also known as New York Power Authority · EIA plant 56196
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 528 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- December 2005First generator online
- Operator
- New York Power AuthorityEIA operator ID 15296
- Grid
- NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
- Price nodes
- 2 NYISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Queens County, NY40.7889, −73.9069
- EIA plant ID
- 56196EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Zeltmann produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
2.69 TWh
2,688,202 MWh, final. 11 of 12 months reported
Capacity factor, 2025
63.5%
2024: 79.4%
January to July 2026
1.22 TWh
Provisional. 5 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2024
2.2–3.7
TWh a year. Low 2017, high 2024
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | 3,054,614 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 3,260,502 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 679,091 | Not reported | 5 of 12 |
| 2009 | 2,613,100 | Not reported | 11 of 12 |
| 2010 | 2,944,713 | 63.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 3,035,850 | 65.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 3,087,324 | 66.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 231,991 | Not reported | 1 of 12 |
| 2014 | 284,403 | 72.4% | 1 of 12 |
| 2015 | 2,891,433 | 62.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 2,722,323 | 58.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 2,223,713 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 243,665 | Not reported | 1 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,446,465 | 52.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 683,500 | 44.6% | 4 of 12 |
| 2021 | 2,751,576 | 59.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 2,586,288 | 55.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 3,404,623 | 73.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 3,681,252 | 79.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 2,688,202 | 63.5% | 11 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,215,207 | 62.7% | 5 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · NYISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.28M
US short tons. 2024: 1.52M
SO₂, 2025
7
US short tons
NOx, 2025
79
US short tons
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CTG7A, CTG7B), matched to EIA plant 56196 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
Not reported
million gallons as reported; not used, see note
Consumption, 2024
Not reported
million gallons
Source
East River
Other, Fresh. Dry cooling
Watershed stress
Moderate · 0.510
USGS SUI, HUC12 Westchester Creek-East River
0 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Dry cooling with no reported withdrawal; not tested. Consumption is below 5% of a large reported withdrawal, so the withdrawal is not used. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CA01 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 188.0 | December 2005 |
| CT01 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 170.0 | December 2005 |
| CT02 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 170.0 | December 2005 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists New York Power Authority as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Zeltmann and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Zeltmann
More plants operated by New York Power Authority
Questions about Zeltmann
How much power does Zeltmann produce?
Zeltmann reported 2,688,202 MWh (2.69 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 63.5% capacity factor on 528 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.22 TWh, which is provisional. 11 of 12 months were reported for 2025.
Where is Zeltmann?
Zeltmann is in Queens County, New York, at 40.7889, −73.9069. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).
Who operates Zeltmann?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists New York Power Authority as the operator (EIA operator ID 15296). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Zeltmann start operating?
Its first generator began operating in December 2005, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Zeltmann?
Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Zeltmann, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page