Hell Gate
Natural gas power plant in Bronx County, New York. 94 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by New York Power Authority.
Also known as Hell Gate power station · EIA plant 7913
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 94 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 2001First generator online
- Operator
- New York Power AuthorityEIA operator ID 15296
- Grid
- NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
- Price nodes
- 2 NYISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Bronx County, NY40.7990, −73.9094
- EIA plant ID
- 7913EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Hell Gate produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
120 GWh
119,912 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
14.6%
2024: 12.8%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
24.9–119.9
GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | 268,520 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 204,217 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 129,661 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 128,716 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 69,418 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 98,437 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 103,063 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 15,773 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 40,936 | 5.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 30,280 | 3.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 54,538 | 6.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 45,415 | 5.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 45,718 | 5.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 45,941 | 5.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 39,046 | 4.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 25,775 | 3.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 37,085 | 4.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 24,911 | 3.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 58,879 | 7.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 70,307 | 8.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 110,115 | 13.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 99,808 | 12.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 105,487 | 12.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 119,912 | 14.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · NYISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
76,765
US short tons. 2024: 67,563
SO₂, 2025
0
US short tons
NOx, 2025
6
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.64 t
About 1,280 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (HG01, HG02), matched to EIA plant 7913 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| HG01 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 47.0 | July 2001 |
| HG02 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 47.0 | July 2001 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists New York Power Authority as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Hell Gate and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Hell Gate
More plants operated by New York Power Authority
Questions about Hell Gate
How much power does Hell Gate produce?
Hell Gate reported 119,912 MWh (120 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 14.6% capacity factor on 94 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Hell Gate?
Hell Gate is in Bronx County, New York, at 40.7990, −73.9094. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).
Who operates Hell Gate?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists New York Power Authority as the operator (EIA operator ID 15296). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Hell Gate start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 2001, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Hell Gate?
Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Hell Gate, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page