TalenEnergy Montour
Natural gas power plant in Montour County, Pennsylvania. 1,757.9 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by TalenEnergy Montour LLC.
Also known as TalenEnergy Montour Power Plant · EIA plant 3149
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,757.9 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- March 1972First generator online
- Operator
- TalenEnergy Montour LLCEIA operator ID 15534
- Grid
- PJMBalancing authority PJM
- Price nodes
- 2 PJM nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Montour County, PA41.0714, −76.6672
- EIA plant ID
- 3149EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power TalenEnergy Montour produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
4.72 TWh
4,717,153 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
Not reported
2024: 19.2%
January to July 2026
3.03 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.2–6.6
TWh a year. Low 2020, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 9,674,371 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 8,315,961 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 9,727,586 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 10,139,709 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 9,843,261 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 10,399,362 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 10,916,977 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 10,083,553 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 8,403,968 | Not reported | 11 of 12 |
| 2009 | 9,932,521 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 5,083,723 | 71.3% | 6 of 12 |
| 2011 | 2,947,795 | 49.5% | 5 of 12 |
| 2012 | 7,994,867 | 55.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 7,003,610 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 6,918,961 | 44.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 6,644,098 | 42.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 4,378,008 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 2,750,615 | 17.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 2,619,510 | 16.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 1,055,951 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 158,977 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 1,260,335 | 8.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 1,326,020 | 8.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 562,285 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 2,961,478 | 19.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 4,717,153 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 3,031,167 | Not reported | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · PJMEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
2.70M
US short tons. 2024: 2.01M
SO₂, 2025
2
US short tons
NOx, 2025
1,526
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.57 t
About 1,143 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 3149 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
2,421
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
1,870
million gallons
Source
Susquehanna River
Surface, Fresh. Natural-draft tower
Watershed stress
Low · 0.283
USGS SUI, HUC12 McKee Run-Chillisquaque Creek
17 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Natural Gas Steam Turbine | 864.9 | March 1972 |
| 2 | Natural Gas Steam Turbine | 893.0 | April 1973 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists TalenEnergy Montour LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query TalenEnergy Montour and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near TalenEnergy Montour
Questions about TalenEnergy Montour
How much power does TalenEnergy Montour produce?
TalenEnergy Montour reported 4,717,153 MWh (4.72 TWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported 3.03 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is TalenEnergy Montour?
TalenEnergy Montour is in Montour County, Pennsylvania, at 41.0714, −76.6672. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).
Who operates TalenEnergy Montour?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists TalenEnergy Montour LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 15534). The operator is not always the owner.
When did TalenEnergy Montour start operating?
Its first generator began operating in March 1972, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for TalenEnergy Montour?
Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to TalenEnergy Montour, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page