HydroOperatingTVA

Ocoee 1

Hydro power plant in Polk County, Tennessee. 19 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by Tennessee Valley Authority.

Also known as Ocoee Dam #1 · EIA plant 3412

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Ocoee 2Whitfield CooperApalachiaMurray Treadwell FarmsBlue RidgeOcoee 125 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 41 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
19 MWNameplate
Generators
5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1912First generator online
Operator
Tennessee Valley AuthorityEIA operator ID 18642
Grid
TVABalancing authority TVA
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Polk County, TN35.0947, −84.6478
EIA plant ID
3412EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Ocoee 1 produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

65.6 GWh

65,629 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

39.4%

2024: 41.5%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

54.7–136.9

GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200039,282Not reported12 of 12
200153,111Not reported12 of 12
200271,114Not reported12 of 12
200396,170Not reported12 of 12
200454,536Not reported12 of 12
200588,727Not reported12 of 12
200655,993Not reported12 of 12
200736,566Not reported12 of 12
200840,113Not reported12 of 12
200932,183Not reported12 of 12
201078,93647.4%12 of 12
201153,95832.4%12 of 12
201250,48130.2%12 of 12
2013112,64167.7%12 of 12
201474,75544.9%12 of 12
201586,11451.7%12 of 12
201667,85240.7%12 of 12
201754,73832.9%12 of 12
2018103,59462.2%12 of 12
2019108,61665.3%12 of 12
2020136,85282.0%12 of 12
2021111,15766.8%12 of 12
202286,20851.8%12 of 12
202369,79741.9%12 of 12
202469,23341.5%12 of 12
202565,62939.4%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric3.8January 1912
2Conventional Hydroelectric3.8January 1912
3Conventional Hydroelectric3.8May 1912
4Conventional Hydroelectric3.8May 1912
5Conventional Hydroelectric3.8December 1914

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Tennessee Valley Authority as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Ocoee 1 and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Ocoee 1

More plants operated by Tennessee Valley Authority

Questions about Ocoee 1

How much power does Ocoee 1 produce?

Ocoee 1 reported 65,629 MWh (65.6 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 39.4% capacity factor on 19 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Ocoee 1?

Ocoee 1 is in Polk County, Tennessee, at 35.0947, −84.6478. It is in the Tennessee Valley Authority balancing area (TVA).

Who operates Ocoee 1?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Tennessee Valley Authority as the operator (EIA operator ID 18642). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Ocoee 1 start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1912, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page