HydroOperatingCAISO

Mammoth Pool

Hydro power plant in Madera County, California. 190 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Southern California Edison Co.

Also known as Mammoth Pool Power Station · EIA plant 344

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Big Creek 8Big Creek 2Big Creek 2ABig Creek 1Big Creek 3J S EastwoodMammoth Pool5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 11 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
190 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
March 1960First generator online
Operator
Southern California Edison CoEIA operator ID 17609
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
2 CAISO nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Madera County, CA37.2203, −119.3380
EIA plant ID
344EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Mammoth Pool produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

466 GWh

465,889 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

28.0%

2024: 24.8%

January to July 2026

443 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

137.6–970.3

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000616,531Not reported12 of 12
2001428,952Not reported12 of 12
2002487,037Not reported12 of 12
2003512,986Not reported12 of 12
2004500,302Not reported12 of 12
2005675,557Not reported12 of 12
2006760,487Not reported12 of 12
2007259,100Not reported12 of 12
2008296,341Not reported12 of 12
2009541,866Not reported12 of 12
2010708,58542.6%12 of 12
2011753,86345.3%12 of 12
2012290,95317.4%12 of 12
2013355,68321.4%12 of 12
2014217,26313.1%12 of 12
2015137,6478.3%12 of 12
2016632,58237.9%12 of 12
2017970,25058.3%12 of 12
2018443,42926.6%12 of 12
2019513,54630.9%12 of 12
2020320,64219.2%12 of 12
2021293,32517.6%12 of 12
2022507,64830.5%12 of 12
2023449,03027.0%12 of 12
2024413,58624.8%12 of 12
2025465,88928.0%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)442,98045.8%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric95.0March 1960
2Conventional Hydroelectric95.0March 1960

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Southern California Edison Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Mammoth Pool and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Mammoth Pool

More plants operated by Southern California Edison Co

Questions about Mammoth Pool

How much power does Mammoth Pool produce?

Mammoth Pool reported 465,889 MWh (466 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 28.0% capacity factor on 190 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 443 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Mammoth Pool?

Mammoth Pool is in Madera County, California, at 37.2203, −119.3380. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Mammoth Pool?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Southern California Edison Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 17609). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Mammoth Pool start operating?

Its first generator began operating in March 1960, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Mammoth Pool?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Mammoth Pool, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page