OilOperatingERCOT

Morgan Creek

Oil power plant in Mitchell County, Texas. 536.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 6 generators, operated by Luminant Generation Company LLC.

Also known as Morgan Creek Power Plant · EIA plant 3492

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Lone Wolfe Phase OneLoraine Windpark Project LLCRoscoe Wind Farm LLCCanyon Wind Project, LLCPyron Wind Farm LLC HybridMorgan Creek20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 36 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
536.4 MWNameplate
Generators
6 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
July 1988First generator online
Operator
Luminant Generation Company LLCEIA operator ID 55983
Grid
ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
Price nodes
2 ERCOT nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Mitchell County, TX32.3358, −100.9156
EIA plant ID
3492EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Morgan Creek produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

35.3 GWh

35,262 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

0.8%

2024: 0.5%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

2.9–73.6

GWh a year. Low 2016, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20003,596,656Not reported12 of 12
20012,457,028Not reported12 of 12
20021,121,868Not reported12 of 12
2003584,342Not reported10 of 12
2004156,925Not reported11 of 12
2005120,564Not reported12 of 12
200656,696Not reported2 of 12
2007149,569Not reported12 of 12
200844,911Not reported10 of 12
200928,137Not reported12 of 12
201013,5210.5%3 of 12
201112,7050.4%4 of 12
201236,2400.8%12 of 12
201330,4610.6%12 of 12
201417,8640.4%12 of 12
201513,0100.3%12 of 12
20162,8760.1%12 of 12
20174,5520.1%12 of 12
20189,1110.2%12 of 12
201916,4070.3%12 of 12
20209,4370.2%12 of 12
202162,9871.3%12 of 12
202221,626Not reported12 of 12
202373,5851.6%12 of 12
202423,5360.5%12 of 12
202535,2620.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ERCOT

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

Not reported

US short tons. 2024: Not reported

SO₂, 2025

Not reported

US short tons

NOx, 2025

65

US short tons

0 of 6 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (5, 6, CT1, CT2, CT3, CT4, CT5, CT6), matched to EIA plant 3492 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
CT1Petroleum Liquids89.4July 1988
CT2Petroleum Liquids89.4July 1988
CT3Petroleum Liquids89.4August 1988
CT4Petroleum Liquids89.4July 1988
CT5Petroleum Liquids89.4July 1988
CT6Petroleum Liquids89.4July 1988

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Luminant Generation Company LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Morgan Creek and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Morgan Creek

More plants operated by Luminant Generation Company LLC

Questions about Morgan Creek

How much power does Morgan Creek produce?

Morgan Creek reported 35,262 MWh (35.3 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.8% capacity factor on 536.4 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Morgan Creek?

Morgan Creek is in Mitchell County, Texas, at 32.3358, −100.9156. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).

Who operates Morgan Creek?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Luminant Generation Company LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 55983). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Morgan Creek start operating?

Its first generator began operating in July 1988, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Morgan Creek?

Yes. InfraMap has ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Morgan Creek, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page