Permian Basin
Natural gas power plant in Ward County, Texas. 447 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by Luminant Generation Company LLC.
Also known as Permian Basin Power Plant · EIA plant 3494
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 447 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- May 1988First generator online
- Operator
- Luminant Generation Company LLCEIA operator ID 55983
- Grid
- ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
- Price nodes
- 5 ERCOT nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Ward County, TX31.5839, −102.9633
- EIA plant ID
- 3494EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Permian Basin produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
670 GWh
669,542 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
17.1%
2024: 11.8%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2016 to 2025
13.7–669.5
GWh a year. Low 2016, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 3,094,371 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 2,636,696 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 2,263,521 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 134,394 | Not reported | 1 of 12 |
| 2004 | 986,324 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 786,041 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 959,847 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 396,101 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | 342,640 | 3.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 322,386 | 3.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 542,269 | 5.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 218,058 | 2.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 92,962 | 1.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 6,969 | 0.1% | 9 of 12 |
| 2016 | 13,692 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 31,909 | 0.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 66,529 | 1.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 55,491 | 16.7% | 1 of 12 |
| 2020 | 346,463 | 8.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 67,092 | 1.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 129,621 | 3.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 344,673 | 8.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 464,467 | 11.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 669,542 | 17.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · ERCOTEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
504,077
US short tons. 2024: 354,113
SO₂, 2025
Not reported
US short tons
NOx, 2025
1,015
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.75 t
About 1,506 lb per MWh
5 of 5 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (5, 6, CT1, CT2, CT3, CT4, CT5), matched to EIA plant 3494 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CT1 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 89.4 | May 1988 |
| CT2 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 89.4 | May 1988 |
| CT3 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 89.4 | May 1988 |
| CT4 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 89.4 | February 1990 |
| CT5 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 89.4 | February 1990 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Luminant Generation Company LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Permian Basin and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Permian Basin
More plants operated by Luminant Generation Company LLC
Questions about Permian Basin
How much power does Permian Basin produce?
Permian Basin reported 669,542 MWh (670 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 17.1% capacity factor on 447 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Permian Basin?
Permian Basin is in Ward County, Texas, at 31.5839, −102.9633. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).
Who operates Permian Basin?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Luminant Generation Company LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 55983). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Permian Basin start operating?
Its first generator began operating in May 1988, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Permian Basin?
Yes. InfraMap has ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices at 5 price nodes linked to Permian Basin, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page