Riverside (OK)
Natural gas power plant in Tulsa County, Oklahoma. 1,121.7 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by Public Service Co of Oklahoma.
Also known as Riverside Power Station · EIA plant 4940
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,121.7 MWNatural gas 1,119.0 · Oil 2.7
- Generators
- 5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- April 1974First generator online
- Operator
- Public Service Co of OklahomaEIA operator ID 15474
- Grid
- SPPBalancing authority SWPP
- Price nodes
- 3 SPP nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Tulsa County, OK35.9978, −95.9567
- EIA plant ID
- 4940EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Riverside (OK) produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
746 GWh
745,862 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
7.6%
2024: 13.7%
January to July 2026
511 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2016 to 2025
0.3–1.3
TWh a year. Low 2021, high 2024
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 3,278,613 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 2,806,033 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 2,342,296 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 1,935,289 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 1,350,554 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 1,995,656 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 2,346,449 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 2,066,946 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 645,210 | Not reported | 5 of 12 |
| 2009 | 609,923 | Not reported | 4 of 12 |
| 2010 | 927,417 | 16.3% | 7 of 12 |
| 2011 | 1,359,808 | 18.6% | 9 of 12 |
| 2012 | 740,576 | 18.2% | 5 of 12 |
| 2013 | 411,964 | 10.0% | 5 of 12 |
| 2014 | 90,473 | 1.6% | 7 of 12 |
| 2015 | 65,268 | 0.7% | 11 of 12 |
| 2016 | 325,489 | 3.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,119 | 0.0% | 3 of 12 |
| 2018 | 598,464 | 6.7% | 11 of 12 |
| 2019 | 593,199 | 6.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 336,138 | 3.7% | 11 of 12 |
| 2021 | 280,510 | 2.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 824,625 | 8.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2024 | 1,349,221 | 13.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 745,862 | 7.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 510,858 | 9.0% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · SPPEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
536,968
US short tons. 2024: 1.01M
SO₂, 2025
3
US short tons
NOx, 2025
1,238
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.72 t
About 1,440 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1501, 1502, 1503, 1504), matched to EIA plant 4940 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
825
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
497
million gallons
Source
Arkansas River
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Moderate · 0.485
USGS SUI, HUC12 Nickel Creek-Polecat Creek
12 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Natural Gas Steam Turbine | 473.0 | April 1974 |
| 2 | Natural Gas Steam Turbine | 473.0 | May 1976 |
| 3 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 86.5 | March 2008 |
| 4 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 86.5 | March 2008 |
| IC1 | Petroleum Liquids | 2.7 | October 1976 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Public Service Co of Oklahoma as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Riverside (OK) and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Riverside (OK)
More plants operated by Public Service Co of Oklahoma
Questions about Riverside (OK)
How much power does Riverside (OK) produce?
Riverside (OK) reported 745,862 MWh (746 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 7.6% capacity factor on 1,121.7 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 511 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Riverside (OK)?
Riverside (OK) is in Tulsa County, Oklahoma, at 35.9978, −95.9567. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).
Who operates Riverside (OK)?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Public Service Co of Oklahoma as the operator (EIA operator ID 15474). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Riverside (OK) start operating?
Its first generator began operating in April 1974, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Riverside (OK)?
Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 3 price nodes linked to Riverside (OK), with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page