Nacimiento Hydro Project
Hydro power plant in San Luis Obispo County, California. 4.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Monterey Cnty Water Res Agency.
Also known as EIA plant 50352
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 4.4 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 1987First generator online
- Operator
- Monterey Cnty Water Res AgencyEIA operator ID 12850
- Grid
- CAISOBalancing authority CISO
- Price nodes
- 1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- San Luis Obispo County, CA35.7986, −120.8833
- EIA plant ID
- 50352EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Nacimiento Hydro Project produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
11.8 GWh
11,767 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
30.5%
2024: 47.2%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.6–18.6
GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2023
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 15,492 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 11,866 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 14,494 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 6,598 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 19,854 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 15,648 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 14,792 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 14,316 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 9,858 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 12,204 | 33.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 17,686 | 48.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 9,012 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 3,023 | 7.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 974 | 2.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 613 | 1.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 1,062 | 2.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 17,552 | 45.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 8,107 | 21.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 13,218 | 34.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 11,676 | 30.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 3,904 | 10.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 628 | 1.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 18,601 | 48.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 18,224 | 47.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 11,767 | 30.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 4.0 | July 1987 |
| 2 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 0.4 | July 1987 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Monterey Cnty Water Res Agency as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Nacimiento Hydro Project and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Nacimiento Hydro Project
Questions about Nacimiento Hydro Project
How much power does Nacimiento Hydro Project produce?
Nacimiento Hydro Project reported 11,767 MWh (11.8 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 30.5% capacity factor on 4.4 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Nacimiento Hydro Project?
Nacimiento Hydro Project is in San Luis Obispo County, California, at 35.7986, −120.8833. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).
Who operates Nacimiento Hydro Project?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Monterey Cnty Water Res Agency as the operator (EIA operator ID 12850). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Nacimiento Hydro Project start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 1987, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Nacimiento Hydro Project?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Nacimiento Hydro Project, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page