Natural gasOperatingCAISO

Aera San Ardo Cogen Facility

Natural gas power plant in Monterey County, California. 3.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Aera Energy LLC-San Ardo.

Also known as EIA plant 55184

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Nacimiento Hydro ProjectSutter Home Winery TCCBlackjack SolarPaso Robles - Municipal AirportKing City PeakingAera San Ardo Cogen Facility20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 38 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
3.2 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
July 1989First generator online
Operator
Aera Energy LLC-San ArdoEIA operator ID 24536
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Monterey County, CA35.9533, −120.8600
EIA plant ID
55184EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Aera San Ardo Cogen Facility produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

19.6 GWh

19,556 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

Not reported

2024: 31.7%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

7.1–49.0

GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2018

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200149,011Not reported12 of 12
200251,996Not reported12 of 12
200350,109Not reported12 of 12
200450,964Not reported12 of 12
200549,456Not reported12 of 12
200647,849Not reported12 of 12
200746,833Not reported12 of 12
200845,526Not reported12 of 12
200940,192Not reported12 of 12
201045,98084.7%12 of 12
201148,64389.6%12 of 12
201244,30781.4%12 of 12
201349,07590.4%12 of 12
201450,07292.2%12 of 12
201541,26376.0%12 of 12
201648,91789.8%12 of 12
201747,55387.6%12 of 12
201849,04190.3%12 of 12
201947,90488.2%12 of 12
202026,07847.9%12 of 12
20217,06213.0%12 of 12
202222,28241.0%12 of 12
202323,64943.5%12 of 12
202417,23831.7%12 of 12
202519,556Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
UN-BNatural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine3.2July 1989

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Aera Energy LLC-San Ardo as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Aera San Ardo Cogen Facility and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Aera San Ardo Cogen Facility

Questions about Aera San Ardo Cogen Facility

How much power does Aera San Ardo Cogen Facility produce?

Aera San Ardo Cogen Facility reported 19,556 MWh (19.6 GWh) of net generation in 2025.

Where is Aera San Ardo Cogen Facility?

Aera San Ardo Cogen Facility is in Monterey County, California, at 35.9533, −120.8600. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Aera San Ardo Cogen Facility?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Aera Energy LLC-San Ardo as the operator (EIA operator ID 24536). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Aera San Ardo Cogen Facility start operating?

Its first generator began operating in July 1989, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page