Natural gasOperatingMISO

University of Michigan

Natural gas power plant in Washtenaw County, Michigan. 47.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by University of Michigan.

Also known as EIA plant 50431

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Warner LambertDomino Farms SolarSuperiorEast. Michigan Univ. Heating PlantWhite Tail SolarSumpterUniversity of Michigan10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 21 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
47.5 MWNameplate
Generators
5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1975First generator online
Operator
University of MichiganEIA operator ID 19588
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Washtenaw County, MI42.2812, −83.7346
EIA plant ID
50431EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power University of Michigan produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

213 GWh

213,018 MWh, final. 11 of 12 months reported

Capacity factor, 2025

43.9%

2024: 41.9%

January to July 2026

134 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2024

138.6–222.6

GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2022

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001141,745Not reported12 of 12
2002165,761Not reported12 of 12
2003101,669Not reported7 of 12
2004158,371Not reported12 of 12
2005158,371Not reported12 of 12
2006115,459Not reported12 of 12
2007120,861Not reported12 of 12
200899,772Not reported12 of 12
2009116,194Not reported12 of 12
2010127,45332.7%12 of 12
2011159,01740.8%12 of 12
2012183,61047.0%12 of 12
2013169,231Not reported12 of 12
2014161,18141.3%12 of 12
2015166,38542.7%12 of 12
2016149,28838.2%12 of 12
2017149,02538.2%12 of 12
2018148,66438.1%12 of 12
2019138,57535.5%12 of 12
2020139,06835.6%12 of 12
2021145,44337.3%12 of 12
2022222,603Not reported12 of 12
2023222,10742.3%12 of 12
2024220,81741.9%12 of 12
2025213,01843.9%11 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)133,57843.8%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
CT6Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle15.5March 2022
TG1Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle12.5January 1986
TG8Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle12.5January 1975
TG9Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle3.5August 1990
TG10Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle3.5June 1992

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists University of Michigan as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query University of Michigan and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near University of Michigan

Questions about University of Michigan

How much power does University of Michigan produce?

University of Michigan reported 213,018 MWh (213 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 43.9% capacity factor on 47.5 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 134 GWh, which is provisional. 11 of 12 months were reported for 2025.

Where is University of Michigan?

University of Michigan is in Washtenaw County, Michigan, at 42.2812, −83.7346. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates University of Michigan?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists University of Michigan as the operator (EIA operator ID 19588). The operator is not always the owner.

When did University of Michigan start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1975, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page