Clearwater Paper IPP Lewiston
Wood biomass power plant in Nez Perce County, Idaho. 93.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Clearwater Paper Corporation.
Also known as EIA plant 50637
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 93.8 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 1981First generator online
- Operator
- Clearwater Paper CorporationEIA operator ID 56225
- Grid
- AVABalancing authority AVA
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Nez Perce County, ID46.4231, −116.9764
- EIA plant ID
- 50637EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Clearwater Paper IPP Lewiston produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
463 GWh
462,919 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
46.4%
2024: 37.6%
January to July 2026
278 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
346.6–462.9
GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 511,949 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 537,653 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 87,334 | Not reported | 2 of 12 |
| 2003 | 185,647 | Not reported | 4 of 12 |
| 2004 | 513,743 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 500,742 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 478,604 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 434,374 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 419,696 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 449,737 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 435,880 | 43.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 443,841 | 44.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 421,558 | 42.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 419,418 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 379,869 | 38.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 404,887 | 40.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 416,911 | 41.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 346,613 | 34.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 368,462 | 37.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 412,952 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 419,790 | 42.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 398,671 | 40.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 392,242 | 39.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 383,064 | 38.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 375,666 | 37.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 462,919 | 46.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 278,336 | 48.1% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
5,499
million gallons as reported; not used, see note
Consumption, 2024
72
million gallons
Source
Clearwater River
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.115
USGS SUI, HUC12 Catholic Creek-Clearwater River
9 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Consumption is below 5% of a large reported withdrawal, so the withdrawal is not used. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEN3 | Wood/Wood Waste Biomass | 28.8 | July 1981 |
| GEN4 | Wood/Wood Waste Biomass | 65.0 | February 1991 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Clearwater Paper Corporation as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Clearwater Paper IPP Lewiston and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Clearwater Paper IPP Lewiston
More plants operated by Clearwater Paper Corporation
Questions about Clearwater Paper IPP Lewiston
How much power does Clearwater Paper IPP Lewiston produce?
Clearwater Paper IPP Lewiston reported 462,919 MWh (463 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 46.4% capacity factor on 93.8 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 278 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Clearwater Paper IPP Lewiston?
Clearwater Paper IPP Lewiston is in Nez Perce County, Idaho, at 46.4231, −116.9764. It is in the Avista Corporation balancing area (AVA).
Who operates Clearwater Paper IPP Lewiston?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Clearwater Paper Corporation as the operator (EIA operator ID 56225). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Clearwater Paper IPP Lewiston start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 1981, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page