Huntington Resource Recovery Facility
Municipal solid waste power plant in Suffolk County, New York. 28 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Huntington Resource Recovery.
Also known as Huntington Resource Recovery · EIA plant 50656
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 28 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- December 1991First generator online
- Operator
- Huntington Resource RecoveryEIA operator ID 9097
- Grid
- NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
- Price nodes
- 1 NYISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Suffolk County, NY40.8814, −73.2906
- EIA plant ID
- 50656EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Huntington Resource Recovery Facility produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
198 GWh
197,999 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
80.7%
2024: 79.6%
January to July 2026
112 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
184.1–198.0
GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 178,352 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 179,098 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 173,576 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 180,452 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 183,448 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 184,930 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 187,584 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 189,082 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 190,106 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 188,087 | 76.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 178,776 | 72.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 189,665 | 77.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 192,021 | 78.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 189,670 | 77.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 188,468 | 76.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 194,698 | 79.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 193,630 | 78.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 189,102 | 77.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 184,119 | 75.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 192,998 | 78.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 191,820 | 78.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 194,455 | 79.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 194,891 | 79.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 195,831 | 79.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 197,999 | 80.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 111,952 | 78.6% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · NYISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEN1 | Municipal Solid Waste | 28.0 | December 1991 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Huntington Resource Recovery as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Huntington Resource Recovery Facility and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Huntington Resource Recovery Facility
Questions about Huntington Resource Recovery Facility
How much power does Huntington Resource Recovery Facility produce?
Huntington Resource Recovery Facility reported 197,999 MWh (198 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 80.7% capacity factor on 28 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 112 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Huntington Resource Recovery Facility?
Huntington Resource Recovery Facility is in Suffolk County, New York, at 40.8814, −73.2906. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).
Who operates Huntington Resource Recovery Facility?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Huntington Resource Recovery as the operator (EIA operator ID 9097). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Huntington Resource Recovery Facility start operating?
Its first generator began operating in December 1991, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Huntington Resource Recovery Facility?
Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Huntington Resource Recovery Facility, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page