HydroOperatingCAISO

San Gabriel Hydro Project

Hydro power plant in Los Angeles County, California. 5 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Los Angeles County-San Gabriel.

Also known as EIA plant 54017

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

AzusaSan DimasWeymouth Solar PlantGilead Sciences La Verne Rooftop SolarVESI PomonaMM West CovinaSan Gabriel Hydro Project10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 20 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
5 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 1987First generator online
Operator
Los Angeles County-San GabrielEIA operator ID 11295
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Los Angeles County, CA34.2043, −117.8557
EIA plant ID
54017EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power San Gabriel Hydro Project produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

2.30 GWh

2,296 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

5.2%

2024: 11.1%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.0–13.6

GWh a year. Low 2018, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20015,463Not reported12 of 12
20020Not reported12 of 12
20037,951Not reported12 of 12
20044,318Not reported12 of 12
200510,890Not reported12 of 12
20068,153Not reported12 of 12
20070Not reported12 of 12
200813,199Not reported12 of 12
20094,434Not reported12 of 12
201022,78252.0%12 of 12
201122,33751.0%12 of 12
20122,4985.7%12 of 12
20134581.0%12 of 12
20146101.4%12 of 12
20152360.5%12 of 12
20168551.9%12 of 12
201710,01122.9%12 of 12
201800.0%12 of 12
20199,14720.9%12 of 12
202013,61931.0%12 of 12
20211,3413.1%12 of 12
20223,3167.6%12 of 12
20235,62512.8%12 of 12
20244,88511.1%12 of 12
20252,2965.2%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
U1Conventional Hydroelectric3.9December 1987
U2Conventional Hydroelectric1.1December 1987

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Los Angeles County-San Gabriel as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query San Gabriel Hydro Project and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near San Gabriel Hydro Project

Questions about San Gabriel Hydro Project

How much power does San Gabriel Hydro Project produce?

San Gabriel Hydro Project reported 2,296 MWh (2.30 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 5.2% capacity factor on 5 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is San Gabriel Hydro Project?

San Gabriel Hydro Project is in Los Angeles County, California, at 34.2043, −117.8557. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates San Gabriel Hydro Project?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Los Angeles County-San Gabriel as the operator (EIA operator ID 11295). The operator is not always the owner.

When did San Gabriel Hydro Project start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 1987, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page