Oroville Cogeneration, LLC
Natural gas power plant in Butte County, California. 7.7 MW of nameplate capacity across 7 generators, operated by Apex Power Generation Corp..
Also known as EIA plant 54477
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 7.7 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 7 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 1990First generator online
- Operator
- Apex Power Generation Corp.EIA operator ID 66891
- Grid
- CAISOBalancing authority CISO
- Price nodes
- 1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Butte County, CA39.4920, −121.5628
- EIA plant ID
- 54477EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Oroville Cogeneration produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
116 MWh
116 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
0.2%
2024: 1.0%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.1–1.5
GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 12,715 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 10,757 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 9,060 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 10,187 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 8,606 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 11,221 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 11,066 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 11,018 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 11,290 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 10,885 | 16.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 9,712 | 14.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 9,303 | 13.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 0 | 0.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 235 | 0.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 1,529 | 2.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 135 | 0.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 413 | 0.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 156 | 0.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 138 | 0.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 139 | 0.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 80 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 211 | 0.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 235 | 0.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 672 | 1.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 116 | 0.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEN1 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 1.1 | January 1990 |
| GEN2 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 1.1 | January 1990 |
| GEN3 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 1.1 | January 1990 |
| GEN4 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 1.1 | January 1990 |
| GEN5 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 1.1 | January 1990 |
| GEN6 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 1.1 | January 1990 |
| GEN7 | Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine | 1.1 | January 1990 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Apex Power Generation Corp. as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Oroville Cogeneration, LLC and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Oroville Cogeneration
Questions about Oroville Cogeneration
How much power does Oroville Cogeneration, LLC produce?
Oroville Cogeneration, LLC reported 116 MWh (116 MWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.2% capacity factor on 7.7 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Oroville Cogeneration, LLC?
Oroville Cogeneration, LLC is in Butte County, California, at 39.4920, −121.5628. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).
Who operates Oroville Cogeneration, LLC?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Apex Power Generation Corp. as the operator (EIA operator ID 66891). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Oroville Cogeneration, LLC start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 1990, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Oroville Cogeneration, LLC?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Oroville Cogeneration, LLC, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page