Natural gasOperatingCAISO

Richard J Donovan Correctional Facility

Natural gas power plant in San Diego County, California. 2.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by California Dept of Corrections.

Also known as EIA plant 54936

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

San Diego - EMDF at San DiegoPio Pico Energy CenterAmazon - SAN5Richard J Donovan Cor…1 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 2.2 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
2.6 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1987First generator online
Operator
California Dept of CorrectionsEIA operator ID 2806
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
San Diego County, CA32.5836, −116.9309
EIA plant ID
54936EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Richard J Donovan Correctional Facility produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

0 MWh

0 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

0.0%

2024: 0.0%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.0–12.9

GWh a year. Low 2018, high 2015

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200114,228Not reported12 of 12
200216,368Not reported12 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20043,846Not reported12 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200621,340Not reported12 of 12
20070Not reported12 of 12
20080Not reported12 of 12
200916,688Not reported12 of 12
201020,20388.7%12 of 12
201122,783Not reported12 of 12
201221,000Not reported12 of 12
201318,00079.0%12 of 12
201400.0%12 of 12
201512,93856.8%12 of 12
20166,69729.3%12 of 12
20178,68638.1%12 of 12
201800.0%12 of 12
20193501.5%12 of 12
20206,84029.9%12 of 12
20217283.2%12 of 12
202200.0%12 of 12
202300.0%12 of 12
202400.0%12 of 12
202500.0%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
03Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine2.6January 1987

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists California Dept of Corrections as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Richard J Donovan Correctional Facility and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Richard J Donovan Correctional Facility

Questions about Richard J Donovan Correctional Facility

How much power does Richard J Donovan Correctional Facility produce?

Richard J Donovan Correctional Facility reported 0 MWh (0 MWh) of net generation in 2025.

Where is Richard J Donovan Correctional Facility?

Richard J Donovan Correctional Facility is in San Diego County, California, at 32.5836, −116.9309. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Richard J Donovan Correctional Facility?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists California Dept of Corrections as the operator (EIA operator ID 2806). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Richard J Donovan Correctional Facility start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1987, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page