Manchief Electric Generating Station
Natural gas power plant in Morgan County, Colorado. 300 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Public Service Co of Colorado.
Also known as EIA plant 55127
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 300 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- June 2000First generator online
- Operator
- Public Service Co of ColoradoEIA operator ID 15466
- Grid
- PSCOBalancing authority PSCO
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Morgan County, CO40.2171, −103.6850
- EIA plant ID
- 55127EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Manchief Electric produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
284 GWh
283,691 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
10.8%
2024: 7.2%
January to July 2026
171 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
77.2–451.4
GWh a year. Low 2016, high 2020
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 520,497 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 1,277,229 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 849,164 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 486,725 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 64,368 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 83,839 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 116,623 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 339,650 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 214,078 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 410,747 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 187,075 | 7.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 215,791 | 8.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 177,398 | 6.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 450,118 | 17.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 295,688 | 11.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 187,257 | 7.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 77,211 | 2.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 111,886 | 4.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 300,300 | 11.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 332,776 | 12.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 451,444 | 17.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 268,258 | 10.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 223,179 | 8.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 354,336 | 13.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 16,018 | 7.2% | 1 of 12 |
| 2025 | 283,691 | 10.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 170,772 | 11.2% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
188,452
US short tons. 2024: 134,907
SO₂, 2025
1
US short tons
NOx, 2025
84
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.66 t
About 1,329 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CT1, CT2), matched to EIA plant 55127 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| UN1 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 150.0 | June 2000 |
| UN2 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 150.0 | June 2000 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Public Service Co of Colorado as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Manchief Electric Generating Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Manchief Electric
More plants operated by Public Service Co of Colorado
Questions about Manchief Electric
How much power does Manchief Electric Generating Station produce?
Manchief Electric Generating Station reported 283,691 MWh (284 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 10.8% capacity factor on 300 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 171 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Manchief Electric Generating Station?
Manchief Electric Generating Station is in Morgan County, Colorado, at 40.2171, −103.6850. It is in the Public Service Company of Colorado balancing area (PSCO).
Who operates Manchief Electric Generating Station?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Public Service Co of Colorado as the operator (EIA operator ID 15466). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Manchief Electric Generating Station start operating?
Its first generator began operating in June 2000, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page