Natural gasOperatingPJM

Springdale 1 & 2

Natural gas power plant in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. 87.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Springdale Energy LLC.

Also known as EIA plant 55196

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Ohara CSG 1 LLCAllegheny No. 5 Hydro StationMon Valley WorksECP Uptown CampusAllegheny No 6 Hydro StationSpringdale 1 & 210 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 25 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
87.6 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 1999First generator online
Operator
Springdale Energy LLCEIA operator ID 61267
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
2 PJM nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Allegheny County, PA40.5467, −79.7683
EIA plant ID
55196EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Springdale 1 & 2 produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

147 GWh

147,318 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

19.2%

2024: 17.0%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

56.1–158.0

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200050,533Not reported12 of 12
200133,787Not reported12 of 12
200263,363Not reported12 of 12
200359,618Not reported12 of 12
2004103,973Not reported12 of 12
2005108,257Not reported12 of 12
200645,291Not reported12 of 12
200780,846Not reported12 of 12
200832,482Not reported12 of 12
200932,099Not reported12 of 12
201082,71810.8%12 of 12
201147,4736.2%12 of 12
201232,4234.2%12 of 12
201323,0283.0%12 of 12
201461,4988.0%12 of 12
201556,0997.3%12 of 12
201687,38411.4%12 of 12
2017139,45118.2%12 of 12
201899,62313.0%12 of 12
2019122,27615.9%12 of 12
2020158,03520.5%12 of 12
2021136,85717.8%12 of 12
2022153,98720.1%12 of 12
2023128,19616.7%12 of 12
2024130,91317.0%12 of 12
2025147,31819.2%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · PJM

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

90,991

US short tons. 2024: 79,495

SO₂, 2025

0

US short tons

NOx, 2025

59

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.62 t

About 1,235 lb per MWh

2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 55196 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
UNT1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine43.8December 1999
UNT2Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine43.8December 1999

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Springdale Energy LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Springdale 1 & 2 and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Springdale 1 & 2

More plants operated by Springdale Energy LLC

Questions about Springdale 1 & 2

How much power does Springdale 1 & 2 produce?

Springdale 1 & 2 reported 147,318 MWh (147 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 19.2% capacity factor on 87.6 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Springdale 1 & 2?

Springdale 1 & 2 is in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, at 40.5467, −79.7683. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates Springdale 1 & 2?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Springdale Energy LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 61267). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Springdale 1 & 2 start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 1999, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Springdale 1 & 2?

Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Springdale 1 & 2, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page