Liberty Electric Power Plant
Natural gas power plant in Delaware County, Pennsylvania. 614 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Liberty Electric Power LLC.
Also known as Liberty Electric Energy Facility · EIA plant 55231
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 614 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- May 2002First generator online
- Operator
- Liberty Electric Power LLCEIA operator ID 27031
- Grid
- PJMBalancing authority PJM
- Price nodes
- 1 PJM nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Delaware County, PA39.8614, −75.3358
- EIA plant ID
- 55231EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Liberty Electric produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
3.93 TWh
3,931,943 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
73.1%
2024: 72.3%
January to July 2026
2.40 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
3.6–4.3
TWh a year. Low 2022, high 2018
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | 1,292,916 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 667,159 | Not reported | 11 of 12 |
| 2004 | 1,304,980 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 392,361 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 924,153 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 1,667,886 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 2,274,531 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 2,952,605 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 3,166,600 | 58.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 3,095,061 | 57.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 3,801,041 | 70.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 3,632,955 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 3,751,680 | 69.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 4,122,956 | 76.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 4,136,540 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 4,140,917 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 4,273,036 | 79.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 3,928,947 | 73.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 3,757,667 | 69.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 4,176,256 | 77.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 3,556,261 | 66.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 3,995,302 | 74.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 3,900,183 | 72.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 3,931,943 | 73.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 2,403,187 | 76.9% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · PJMEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.73M
US short tons. 2024: 1.70M
SO₂, 2025
9
US short tons
NOx, 2025
135
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.44 t
About 881 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 55231 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
913
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
810
million gallons
Source
Municipality
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.144
USGS SUI, HUC12 Crum Creek
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GTG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 186.0 | May 2002 |
| GTG2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 186.0 | May 2002 |
| STG | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 242.0 | May 2002 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Liberty Electric Power LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Liberty Electric Power Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Liberty Electric
Questions about Liberty Electric
How much power does Liberty Electric Power Plant produce?
Liberty Electric Power Plant reported 3,931,943 MWh (3.93 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 73.1% capacity factor on 614 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 2.40 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Liberty Electric Power Plant?
Liberty Electric Power Plant is in Delaware County, Pennsylvania, at 39.8614, −75.3358. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).
Who operates Liberty Electric Power Plant?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Liberty Electric Power LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 27031). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Liberty Electric Power Plant start operating?
Its first generator began operating in May 2002, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Liberty Electric Power Plant?
Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Liberty Electric Power Plant, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page