Natural gasOperatingCAISO

Palomar Energy

Natural gas power plant in San Diego County, California. 559 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by San Diego Gas & Electric Co.

Also known as Palomar Energy Center · EIA plant 55985

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Goal Line LPBear ValleySDCWA - Twin OaksWatkins Manufacturing Co.Palomar Energy5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 11 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
559 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
October 2005First generator online
Operator
San Diego Gas & Electric CoEIA operator ID 16609
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
San Diego County, CA33.1197, −117.1178
EIA plant ID
55985EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Palomar Energy produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

1.47 TWh

1,469,615 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

30.0%

2024: 18.9%

January to July 2026

235 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.9–3.0

TWh a year. Low 2024, high 2015

Annual net generation, TWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20062,475,090Not reported10 of 12
20073,352,807Not reported12 of 12
20083,590,373Not reported12 of 12
20093,296,813Not reported12 of 12
20103,197,92865.3%12 of 12
20112,154,62344.0%12 of 12
20122,793,67456.9%12 of 12
20133,773,689Not reported12 of 12
20142,598,64753.1%12 of 12
20153,002,42961.3%12 of 12
20162,299,05246.8%12 of 12
20172,517,13751.4%12 of 12
20181,925,06639.3%12 of 12
20191,182,81224.2%12 of 12
20202,029,25941.3%12 of 12
20211,835,52137.5%12 of 12
20222,381,53048.6%12 of 12
20231,279,41226.1%12 of 12
2024925,64918.9%12 of 12
20251,469,61530.0%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)235,4238.3%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

613,662

US short tons. 2024: 393,058

SO₂, 2025

3

US short tons

NOx, 2025

34

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.42 t

About 835 lb per MWh

2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CTG1, CTG2), matched to EIA plant 55985 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

Withdrawal, 2024

365

million gallons

Consumption, 2024

250

million gallons

Source

Municipal

Discharge, Reclaimed. Induced-draft tower

Watershed stress

Low · 0.322

USGS SUI, HUC12 Lower Escondido Creek

12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Reclaimed water or plant effluent; not tested. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
CTG1Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle165.0October 2005
CTG2Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle165.0November 2005
STGNatural Gas Fired Combined Cycle229.0January 2006

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists San Diego Gas & Electric Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Palomar Energy and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Palomar Energy

More plants operated by San Diego Gas & Electric Co

Questions about Palomar Energy

How much power does Palomar Energy produce?

Palomar Energy reported 1,469,615 MWh (1.47 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 30.0% capacity factor on 559 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 235 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Palomar Energy?

Palomar Energy is in San Diego County, California, at 33.1197, −117.1178. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Palomar Energy?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists San Diego Gas & Electric Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 16609). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Palomar Energy start operating?

Its first generator began operating in October 2005, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Palomar Energy?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Palomar Energy, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page