Magnolia Power Project
Natural gas power plant in Los Angeles County, California. 387.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by City of Burbank Water and Power - (CA).
Also known as EIA plant 56046
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 387.6 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- September 2005First generator online
- Operator
- City of Burbank Water and Power - (CA)EIA operator ID 2507
- Grid
- LDWPBalancing authority LDWP
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Los Angeles County, CA34.1786, −118.3153
- EIA plant ID
- 56046EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Magnolia Power Project produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
1.20 TWh
1,204,502 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
35.5%
2024: 45.6%
January to July 2026
585 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
1.1–1.7
TWh a year. Low 2021, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | 52,918 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 958,473 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 1,418,905 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 1,571,797 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 1,564,055 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 1,656,954 | 48.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 1,119,338 | 33.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 1,418,850 | 41.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 1,163,701 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 1,153,628 | 50.6% | 8 of 12 |
| 2015 | 1,712,359 | 50.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 1,628,469 | 47.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,429,737 | 42.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 1,531,144 | 45.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 1,571,046 | 46.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 1,324,449 | 38.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 1,052,998 | 31.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 1,514,703 | 44.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 1,475,713 | 43.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 1,553,013 | 45.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 1,204,502 | 35.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 584,523 | 29.6% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
555,088
US short tons. 2024: 697,417
SO₂, 2025
3
US short tons
NOx, 2025
24
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.46 t
About 922 lb per MWh
1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1), matched to EIA plant 56046 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
323
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
323
million gallons
Source
Municipality
Discharge, Reclaimed. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Moderate · 0.500
USGS SUI, HUC12 Tujunga Wash-Los Angeles River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Reclaimed water or plant effluent; not tested. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 198.9 | September 2005 |
| 2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 188.7 | September 2005 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Burbank Water and Power - (CA) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Magnolia Power Project and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Magnolia Power Project
More plants operated by City of Burbank Water and Power - (CA)
Questions about Magnolia Power Project
How much power does Magnolia Power Project produce?
Magnolia Power Project reported 1,204,502 MWh (1.20 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 35.5% capacity factor on 387.6 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 585 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Magnolia Power Project?
Magnolia Power Project is in Los Angeles County, California, at 34.1786, −118.3153. It is in the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power balancing area (LDWP).
Who operates Magnolia Power Project?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Burbank Water and Power - (CA) as the operator (EIA operator ID 2507). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Magnolia Power Project start operating?
Its first generator began operating in September 2005, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page