WindOperatingMISO

Buffalo Ridge I LLC

Wind power plant in Brookings County, South Dakota. 50.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Avangrid Power LLC.

Also known as Buffalo Ridge I Wind Farm · EIA plant 56792

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Julia Hills LLCSun River LLCTsar Nicholas LLCBuffalo Ridge I2 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 3.8 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
50.4 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
April 2009First generator online
Operator
Avangrid Power LLCEIA operator ID 15399
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Brookings County, SD44.4328, −96.4779
EIA plant ID
56792EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Buffalo Ridge I produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

106 GWh

106,300 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

24.1%

2024: 18.0%

January to July 2026

57.9 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

79.8–158.8

GWh a year. Low 2024, high 2016

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200996,251Not reported9 of 12
2010147,74433.5%12 of 12
2011150,64834.1%12 of 12
2012176,47339.9%12 of 12
2013138,48131.4%12 of 12
2014143,63532.5%12 of 12
2015149,76433.9%12 of 12
2016158,76235.9%12 of 12
2017147,79633.5%12 of 12
2018149,65533.9%12 of 12
2019141,03731.9%12 of 12
2020115,29826.0%12 of 12
202180,93218.3%12 of 12
202290,88120.6%12 of 12
202394,48121.4%12 of 12
202479,78518.0%12 of 12
2025106,30024.1%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)57,86322.6%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · MISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Onshore Wind Turbine50.4April 2009

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Avangrid Power LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Buffalo Ridge I LLC and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Buffalo Ridge I

More plants operated by Avangrid Power LLC

Questions about Buffalo Ridge I

How much power does Buffalo Ridge I LLC produce?

Buffalo Ridge I LLC reported 106,300 MWh (106 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 24.1% capacity factor on 50.4 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 57.9 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Buffalo Ridge I LLC?

Buffalo Ridge I LLC is in Brookings County, South Dakota, at 44.4328, −96.4779. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Buffalo Ridge I LLC?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Avangrid Power LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 15399). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Buffalo Ridge I LLC start operating?

Its first generator began operating in April 2009, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Buffalo Ridge I LLC?

Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Buffalo Ridge I LLC, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page