WindOperatingERCOT

Karankawa Wind LLC

Wind power plant in San Patricio County, Texas. 307.1 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Avangrid Power LLC.

Also known as Karankawa Wind · Karankawa · EIA plant 61343

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

TynanEl Algodon Alto Wind Farm, LLCBrightsideOrange GroveRegis PirateKarankawa Wind20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 33 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
307.1 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
November 2019First generator online
Operator
Avangrid Power LLCEIA operator ID 15399
Grid
ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
Price nodes
2 ERCOT nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
San Patricio County, TX28.1702, −97.8175
EIA plant ID
61343EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Karankawa Wind produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

825 GWh

824,540 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

30.6%

2024: 29.3%

January to July 2026

599 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2020 to 2025

790.6–994.4

GWh a year. Low 2024, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2018Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2019111,422Not reported2 of 12
2020994,40136.9%12 of 12
2021927,32634.5%12 of 12
2022908,82633.8%12 of 12
2023855,33231.8%12 of 12
2024790,60829.3%12 of 12
2025824,54030.6%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)598,81938.3%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ERCOT

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
WT1Onshore Wind Turbine307.1November 2019

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Avangrid Power LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Karankawa Wind LLC and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Karankawa Wind

More plants operated by Avangrid Power LLC

Questions about Karankawa Wind

How much power does Karankawa Wind LLC produce?

Karankawa Wind LLC reported 824,540 MWh (825 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 30.6% capacity factor on 307.1 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 599 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Karankawa Wind LLC?

Karankawa Wind LLC is in San Patricio County, Texas, at 28.1702, −97.8175. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).

Who operates Karankawa Wind LLC?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Avangrid Power LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 15399). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Karankawa Wind LLC start operating?

Its first generator began operating in November 2019, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Karankawa Wind LLC?

Yes. InfraMap has ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Karankawa Wind LLC, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
  • Project names from the USGS U.S. Wind Turbine Database

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page