North Brawley Geothermal Plant
Geothermal power plant in Imperial County, California. 16 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Ormat Nevada Inc.
Also known as EIA plant 56832
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 16 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 2009First generator online
- Operator
- Ormat Nevada IncEIA operator ID 34691
- Grid
- IIDBalancing authority IID
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Imperial County, CA33.0139, −115.5439
- EIA plant ID
- 56832EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power North Brawley Geothermal Plant produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
8.39 GWh
8,392 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
1.2%
2024: 2.4%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
8.4–102.7
GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | 614 | Not reported | 1 of 12 |
| 2009 | 34,694 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 177,569 | 31.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 183,126 | 32.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 182,928 | 32.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 183,896 | 32.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 138,508 | 24.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 102,677 | 18.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 70,885 | 12.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 54,116 | 9.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 55,668 | 9.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 55,693 | 7.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 83,639 | 11.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 45,121 | 6.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 35,666 | 5.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 28,203 | 4.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 16,870 | 2.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 8,392 | 1.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GE5 | Geothermal | 16.0 | October 2009 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Ormat Nevada Inc as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query North Brawley Geothermal Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near North Brawley Geothermal Plant
More plants operated by Ormat Nevada Inc
Questions about North Brawley Geothermal Plant
How much power does North Brawley Geothermal Plant produce?
North Brawley Geothermal Plant reported 8,392 MWh (8.39 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 1.2% capacity factor on 16 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is North Brawley Geothermal Plant?
North Brawley Geothermal Plant is in Imperial County, California, at 33.0139, −115.5439. It is in the Imperial Irrigation District balancing area (IID).
Who operates North Brawley Geothermal Plant?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Ormat Nevada Inc as the operator (EIA operator ID 34691). The operator is not always the owner.
When did North Brawley Geothermal Plant start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 2009, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page