Canyon Power Plant
Natural gas power plant in Orange County, California. 150 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by City of Anaheim - (CA).
Also known as EIA plant 57027
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 150 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 2011First generator online
- Operator
- City of Anaheim - (CA)EIA operator ID 590
- Grid
- CAISOBalancing authority CISO
- Price nodes
- 4 CAISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Orange County, CA33.8581, −117.8617
- EIA plant ID
- 57027EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Canyon produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
13.3 GWh
13,331 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
0.8%
2024: 4.5%
January to July 2026
33.6 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
13.3–181.9
GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2018
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | 35,426 | Not reported | 5 of 12 |
| 2012 | 101,691 | 5.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 104,665 | 6.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 96,553 | 5.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 95,441 | 5.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 123,094 | 7.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 159,297 | 9.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 181,871 | 10.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 123,153 | 7.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 111,171 | 6.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 67,679 | 3.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 143,719 | 8.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 102,533 | 5.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 78,454 | 4.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 13,331 | 0.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 33,587 | 3.3% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2024
48,410
US short tons. 2023: 64,212
SO₂, 2024
0
US short tons
NOx, 2024
3
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.62 t
About 1,234 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2024 (1, 2, 3, 4), matched to EIA plant 57027 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CPP2 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 50.0 | September 2011 |
| CPP3 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 50.0 | August 2011 |
| CPP4 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 50.0 | August 2011 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Anaheim - (CA) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Canyon Power Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Canyon
Questions about Canyon
How much power does Canyon Power Plant produce?
Canyon Power Plant reported 13,331 MWh (13.3 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.8% capacity factor on 150 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 33.6 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Canyon Power Plant?
Canyon Power Plant is in Orange County, California, at 33.8581, −117.8617. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).
Who operates Canyon Power Plant?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Anaheim - (CA) as the operator (EIA operator ID 590). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Canyon Power Plant start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 2011, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Canyon Power Plant?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 4 price nodes linked to Canyon Power Plant, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page