Alta Wind Energy Center IV
Wind power plant in Kern County, California. 102 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Alta Wind IV, LLC.
Also known as EIA plant 57293
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 102 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- April 2011First generator online
- Operator
- Alta Wind IV, LLCEIA operator ID 64622
- Grid
- CAISOBalancing authority CISO
- Price nodes
- 1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Kern County, CA35.0086, −118.2422
- EIA plant ID
- 57293EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Alta Wind Energy Center IV produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
168 GWh
167,527 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
18.7%
2024: 21.6%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
134.7–193.4
GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2024
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | 149,373 | Not reported | 9 of 12 |
| 2012 | 150,322 | 16.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 178,777 | 20.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 168,320 | 18.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 134,744 | 15.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 183,393 | 20.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 162,752 | 18.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 178,715 | 20.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 150,299 | 16.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 161,959 | 18.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 177,821 | 19.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 175,557 | 19.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 147,808 | 16.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 193,377 | 21.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 167,527 | 18.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| AW04 | Onshore Wind Turbine | 102.0 | April 2011 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Alta Wind IV, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Modeled curtailment
A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.
Expected vs reported generation
Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Alta Wind Energy Center IV and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Alta Wind Energy Center IV
Questions about Alta Wind Energy Center IV
How much power does Alta Wind Energy Center IV produce?
Alta Wind Energy Center IV reported 167,527 MWh (168 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 18.7% capacity factor on 102 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Alta Wind Energy Center IV?
Alta Wind Energy Center IV is in Kern County, California, at 35.0086, −118.2422. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).
Who operates Alta Wind Energy Center IV?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Alta Wind IV, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 64622). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Alta Wind Energy Center IV start operating?
Its first generator began operating in April 2011, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Alta Wind Energy Center IV?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Alta Wind Energy Center IV, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page