WindOperatingBPAT

Horse Butte Wind I, LLC

Wind power plant in Bonneville County, Idaho. 57.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Utah Associated Mun Power Sys.

Also known as Horse Butte Wind I · Horse Butte · EIA plant 57890

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Wolverine CreekGoshen Phase IIIFP Peaking PlantMeadow Creek Project CompanyCedar Creek Wind, LLCCity Power PlantHorse Butte Wind I10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 28 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
57.6 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
August 2012First generator online
Operator
Utah Associated Mun Power SysEIA operator ID 40575
Grid
BPATBalancing authority BPAT
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Bonneville County, ID43.3864, −111.7264
EIA plant ID
57890EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Horse Butte Wind I produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

158 GWh

157,956 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

31.3%

2024: 33.1%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

146.0–183.4

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
201260,244Not reported6 of 12
2013132,62926.3%12 of 12
2014164,44132.6%12 of 12
2015146,00228.9%12 of 12
2016177,23435.0%12 of 12
2017171,09933.9%12 of 12
2018159,63931.6%12 of 12
2019162,64032.2%12 of 12
2020183,40536.2%12 of 12
2021175,12234.7%12 of 12
2022162,75132.3%12 of 12
2023149,36829.6%12 of 12
2024167,38833.1%12 of 12
2025157,95631.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Onshore Wind Turbine57.6August 2012

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Utah Associated Mun Power Sys as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Horse Butte Wind I, LLC and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Horse Butte Wind I

More plants operated by Utah Associated Mun Power Sys

Questions about Horse Butte Wind I

How much power does Horse Butte Wind I, LLC produce?

Horse Butte Wind I, LLC reported 157,956 MWh (158 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 31.3% capacity factor on 57.6 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Horse Butte Wind I, LLC?

Horse Butte Wind I, LLC is in Bonneville County, Idaho, at 43.3864, −111.7264. It is in the Bonneville Power Administration balancing area (BPAT).

Who operates Horse Butte Wind I, LLC?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Utah Associated Mun Power Sys as the operator (EIA operator ID 40575). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Horse Butte Wind I, LLC start operating?

Its first generator began operating in August 2012, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
  • Project names from the USGS U.S. Wind Turbine Database

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page