Red Horse 2
Solar and wind power plant in Cochise County, Arizona. 81 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Red Horse 2.
Also known as EIA plant 58833
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 81 MWSolar 51.0 · Wind 30.0
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 2015First generator online
- Operator
- Red Horse 2EIA operator ID 59146
- Grid
- TEPCBalancing authority TEPC
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Cochise County, AZ32.2861, −110.0881
- EIA plant ID
- 58833EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Red Horse 2 produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
144 GWh
144,209 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
20.3%
2024: 27.4%
January to July 2026
121 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2016 to 2025
144.2–226.2
GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2020
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | 77,030 | Not reported | 5 of 12 |
| 2016 | 220,108 | 30.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 214,236 | 30.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 226,106 | 31.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 213,103 | 30.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 226,232 | 31.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 212,935 | 30.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 214,149 | 30.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 203,382 | 28.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 194,859 | 27.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 144,209 | 20.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 121,176 | 29.4% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| RH2S | Solar Photovoltaic | 51.0 | August 2015 |
| RH2W | Onshore Wind Turbine | 30.0 | August 2015 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Red Horse 2 as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Modeled curtailment
A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.
Expected vs reported generation
Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Red Horse 2 and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Red Horse 2
Questions about Red Horse 2
How much power does Red Horse 2 produce?
Red Horse 2 reported 144,209 MWh (144 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 20.3% capacity factor on 81 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 121 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Red Horse 2?
Red Horse 2 is in Cochise County, Arizona, at 32.2861, −110.0881. It is in the Tucson Electric Power Company balancing area (TEPC).
Who operates Red Horse 2?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Red Horse 2 as the operator (EIA operator ID 59146). The operator is not always the owner.
Is Red Horse 2 a solar or a wind plant?
Both. Solar capacity totals 51 MW and wind capacity totals 30 MW.
When did Red Horse 2 start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 2015, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page