Steel Sun
Solar power plant in Erie County, New York. 2 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by CleanCapital Holdings.
Also known as EIA plant 59705
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 2 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- December 2016First generator online
- Operator
- CleanCapital HoldingsEIA operator ID 65164
- Grid
- NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Erie County, NY42.8128, −78.8453
- EIA plant ID
- 59705EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Steel Sun produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
4.44 GWh
4,443 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
25.4%
2024: 24.9%
January to July 2026
2.56 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2017 to 2025
4.0–4.9
GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | 4,992 | Not reported | 1 of 12 |
| 2017 | 4,015 | 22.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 4,439 | 25.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 4,520 | 25.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 4,759 | 27.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 4,658 | 26.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 4,866 | 27.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 4,416 | 25.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 4,380 | 24.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 4,443 | 25.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 2,561 | 25.2% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| SSUN2 | Solar Photovoltaic | 2.0 | December 2016 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists CleanCapital Holdings as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Modeled curtailment
A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.
Expected vs reported generation
Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Steel Sun and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Steel Sun
More plants operated by CleanCapital Holdings
Questions about Steel Sun
How much power does Steel Sun produce?
Steel Sun reported 4,443 MWh (4.44 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 25.4% capacity factor on 2 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 2.56 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Steel Sun?
Steel Sun is in Erie County, New York, at 42.8128, −78.8453. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).
Who operates Steel Sun?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists CleanCapital Holdings as the operator (EIA operator ID 65164). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Steel Sun start operating?
Its first generator began operating in December 2016, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page