NuclearOperatingSOCO

Edwin I Hatch

Nuclear power plant in Appling County, Georgia. 1,848 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Georgia Power Co.

Also known as Hatch Nuclear Power Plant · EIA plant 6051

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

BaxleyCurry SolarReidsville Renewables, Inc.SR HazlehurstHazlehurst IIIEdwin I Hatch10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 27 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
1,848 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 1975First generator online
Operator
Georgia Power CoEIA operator ID 7140
Grid
SOCOBalancing authority SOCO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Appling County, GA31.9342, −82.3447
EIA plant ID
6051EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Edwin I Hatch produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

14.1 TWh

14,080,378 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

87.0%

2024: 86.9%

January to July 2026

7.69 TWh

Provisional

Range, 2015 to 2025

13.9–14.6

TWh a year. Low 2019, high 2016

Annual net generation, TWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200012,896,325Not reported12 of 12
200114,080,708Not reported12 of 12
200214,050,397Not reported12 of 12
200314,109,431Not reported12 of 12
200414,416,748Not reported12 of 12
200513,721,230Not reported12 of 12
200614,058,657Not reported12 of 12
200714,248,105Not reported12 of 12
200813,913,542Not reported12 of 12
200912,396,655Not reported12 of 12
201013,901,55692.2%12 of 12
201113,576,88290.0%12 of 12
201214,383,43795.1%12 of 12
201313,823,82891.7%12 of 12
201414,509,99296.2%12 of 12
201514,497,25496.1%12 of 12
201614,620,43396.7%12 of 12
201714,530,94296.3%12 of 12
201814,403,55095.5%12 of 12
201913,916,881Not reported12 of 12
202013,967,87986.0%12 of 12
202114,165,06887.5%12 of 12
202214,558,38589.9%12 of 12
202314,340,22488.6%12 of 12
202414,104,04886.9%12 of 12
202514,080,37887.0%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)7,689,20181.8%7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

Withdrawal, 2024

23,346

million gallons

Consumption, 2024

12,045

million gallons

Source

Altahama River

Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower

Watershed stress

Very low/none · 0.186

USGS SUI, HUC12 Bay Creek-Altamaha River

12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Nuclear924.0December 1975
2Nuclear924.0September 1979

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Georgia Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Edwin I Hatch and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Edwin I Hatch

More plants operated by Georgia Power Co

Questions about Edwin I Hatch

How much power does Edwin I Hatch produce?

Edwin I Hatch reported 14,080,378 MWh (14.1 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 87.0% capacity factor on 1,848 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 7.69 TWh, which is provisional.

Where is Edwin I Hatch?

Edwin I Hatch is in Appling County, Georgia, at 31.9342, −82.3447. It is in the Southern Company Services, Inc. - Trans balancing area (SOCO).

Who operates Edwin I Hatch?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Georgia Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 7140). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Edwin I Hatch start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 1975, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page