McIntosh
Natural gas power plant in Effingham County, Georgia. 810.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 8 generators, operated by Georgia Power Co.
Also known as Plant McIntosh · McIntosh Power Station · EIA plant 6124
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 810.4 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 8 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- February 1994First generator online
- Operator
- Georgia Power CoEIA operator ID 7140
- Grid
- SOCOBalancing authority SOCO
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Effingham County, GA32.3563, −81.1684
- EIA plant ID
- 6124EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power McIntosh produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
35.5 GWh
35,533 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
0.5%
2024: 0.4%
January to July 2026
36.7 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2021 to 2025
18.2–84.3
GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 1,304,634 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 1,030,791 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 1,175,218 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 1,079,422 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 1,071,718 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 975,841 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 990,090 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 737,494 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 706,633 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 30,953 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 270,438 | 3.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 65,892 | 0.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 6,533 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | 308,732 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2019 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2020 | 21,948 | 0.5% | 7 of 12 |
| 2021 | 27,248 | 0.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 84,292 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 18,174 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 32,009 | 0.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 35,533 | 0.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 36,707 | 0.9% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
37,621
US short tons. 2024: 33,903
SO₂, 2025
4
US short tons
NOx, 2025
53
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
1.06 t
About 2,118 lb per MWh
8 of 8 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, CT1, CT2, CT3, CT4, CT5, CT6, CT7, and others), matched to EIA plant 6124 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CT1 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.3 | May 1995 |
| CT2 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.3 | April 1995 |
| CT3 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.3 | June 1994 |
| CT4 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.3 | May 1994 |
| CT5 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.3 | April 1994 |
| CT6 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.3 | May 1994 |
| CT7 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.3 | April 1994 |
| CT8 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 101.3 | February 1994 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Georgia Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query McIntosh and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near McIntosh
More plants operated by Georgia Power Co
Questions about McIntosh
How much power does McIntosh produce?
McIntosh reported 35,533 MWh (35.5 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.5% capacity factor on 810.4 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 36.7 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is McIntosh?
McIntosh is in Effingham County, Georgia, at 32.3563, −81.1684. It is in the Southern Company Services, Inc. - Trans balancing area (SOCO).
Who operates McIntosh?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Georgia Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 7140). The operator is not always the owner.
When did McIntosh start operating?
Its first generator began operating in February 1994, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page